Wireless Access

last person joined: 13 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

How to stop Clients from Sticking to AP's? Sticky situation!!!

This thread has been viewed 56 times
  • 1.  How to stop Clients from Sticking to AP's? Sticky situation!!!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 01:51 PM

So I recently started a position with a company who has a full wireless network depolyed. I am new with Aruba and how everything works. I am seeing an issue with particularly iOS Devices sticking to AP's in another building about 50ft away and not switching to an AP right next to them. We currently have AP-125's deployed and I have changed some of them over to AP-135's to see if this could solve the issue. I was thinking maybe I need to adjust the signal strenght, but support indicated not to do this. I also read that iOS will not Roam to a new AP untill it reaches 70dbm and that 802.11k could help with this? Please help im stuck at this point on what my options are.  

Thanks, 

• 2.  RE: How to stop Clients from Sticking to AP's? Sticky situation!!!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 02:21 PM

What version of AOS are your running ?

• 3.  RE: How to stop Clients from Sticking to AP's? Sticky situation!!!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 02:29 PM
    Name:Alcatel-Lucent Operating System-Wireless.
    Model:OAW-4550-US
    Version:6.4.2.3

• 4.  RE: How to stop Clients from Sticking to AP's? Sticky situation!!!

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 25, 2015 03:15 PM

TechSavvy86,

How many access points do you have? (commandline - show ap active)

What model access point are they? (commandline - show ap active)

What is your access point's highest power on each band? (commandline - show ap active)

Long story short, clients stick to access points if the power on the access point exceeds that of the client.  You would want to cap the power on the AP to 18 using the ARM profile:

ARM-power.png