Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2008

How will adding a new vlan to a vlan pool affect existing clients?

Can anyone tell me what affect adding a new vlan to a pool has on existing clients on the network please?  Does the controller re-hash all the existing clients at the time when you make the change or does it only re-hash when the client reauthenticates?  The test that I tried resulted in the client losing network connection, it looked like the client was moved to another vlan but the client didn't dhcp so lost network connectivity.  Is this expected behaviour?  Turning the wifi off and back on, hence reauthenticating and dhcping fixed the issue but I don't really want our users to have to do this.

 

I need to do this in our live environment that has up to 13000 clients so need to know how it will affect them.

 

Thanks

MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: How will adding a new vlan to a vlan pool affect existing clients?

What version of AOS are you using?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2008

Re: How will adding a new vlan to a vlan pool affect existing clients?

6.4.2.14

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,960
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How will adding a new vlan to a vlan pool affect existing clients?


emm502 wrote:

Can anyone tell me what affect adding a new vlan to a pool has on existing clients on the network please?  Does the controller re-hash all the existing clients at the time when you make the change or does it only re-hash when the client reauthenticates?  The test that I tried resulted in the client losing network connection, it looked like the client was moved to another vlan but the client didn't dhcp so lost network connectivity.  Is this expected behaviour?  Turning the wifi off and back on, hence reauthenticating and dhcping fixed the issue but I don't really want our users to have to do this.

 

I need to do this in our live environment that has up to 13000 clients so need to know how it will affect them.

 

Thanks


Do not do in a live environment.  All clients get kicked off so that they can be placed into correct hashed vlans, but it is far from invisible, so it should be done in a maintenence window.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2008

Re: How will adding a new vlan to a vlan pool affect existing clients?

That clarifies things, thanks for your help.

MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: How will adding a new vlan to a vlan pool affect existing clients?

This particular action is not in the list but something to keep in mind.

The following changes will trigger a radio restart and the wireless clients will be briefly interrupted if you are using the AP-200 Series, AP-210 Series, AP-220 Series starting on 6.4.2.2 +

 

2016-02-19 11_44_14-Settings.png

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: