Wireless Access

Reply
fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

Guys, 

 

 

 

I have configured the controller to have a default gateway pointing to my switch. The switch and router are configured to let out vlans 200 and 300. I tested connectivity to the internet from the switch and all is well. Problem is that I cannot get access to the internet from the controller itself. I have also noticed that the route keeps bouncing back the controller IP (200) and the default gateway (4)

 

What am i doing wrong?

 

(Aruba3200-Test) #traceroute 87.250.250.203
Press 'q' to abort.
Tracing the route to 87.250.250.203

1 10.2.221.4 0.846 msec 0.62 msec 0.609 msec
2 10.2.221.200 0.687 msec 0.801 msec 0.591 msec
3 10.2.221.4 1.4 msec 3.654 msec 0.764 msec
4 10.2.221.200 0.698 msec 0.684 msec 0.746 msec
5 * * 10.2.221.4 0.948 msec
6 10.2.221.200 0.793 msec 0.729 msec 0.752 msec
7 * 10.2.221.4 1.039 msec *
8 10.2.221.200 1.079 msec 0.854 msec 0.843 msec
9 10.2.221.4 1.076 msec * 1.249 msec
10 10.2.221.200 0.848 msec 0.875 msec 0.799 msec


(Aruba3200-Test) #show ip route

Codes: C - connected, O - OSPF, R - RIP, S - static
M - mgmt, U - route usable, * - candidate default

Gateway of last resort is Imported from DHCP to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 10
Gateway of last resort is Imported from CELL to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 10
Gateway of last resort is Imported from PPPOE to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 10
Gateway of last resort is 10.2.221.4 to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 1
S* 0.0.0.0/0 [1/0] via 10.2.221.4*
C 10.2.221.0 is directly connected, VLAN1
C 10.10.100.0 is directly connected, VLAN100
C 10.10.200.0 is directly connected, VLAN200
C 10.10.30.0 is directly connected, VLAN300

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

You say that your switch and router are configured to let you VLANs 200 and 300; however the default route for the controller is on VLAN 1.     Is that VLAN allowed out?    Which VLAN is your controller-ip on?      

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

More info is needed here.  Can you paste the controller config?  Obviously, the controller can ping the router.  So...does the router know about this subnet?  Is it a new subnet on the network?  You may have the default route set to 10.2.221.4 but does that router have a route BACK TO any of these networks?

 

C 10.10.100.0 is directly connected, VLAN100
C 10.10.200.0 is directly connected, VLAN200
C 10.10.30.0 is directly connected, VLAN300

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

Re: IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

clembo!

 

That was something that I had overlooked. The IP address of the controller was on a VLAN that was only local to the controller. I changed it to the 200 vlan and walaaa.....works like magic :)

 

Thank you!

fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

Re: IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

Seth,

 

Sorry, forgot to give an update. All is well now. Thankyou!

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

What was it?

Seth Fiermonti
781-632-6052
Sent from my iPhone
Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

Re: IP Route loop - Controller 3200XM

The IP address of the controller was on a VLAN that was only local to the controller. I had pruned it from the uplink trunk.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: