Wireless Access

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Instant 105 config for multiple sites/networks

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Instant 105 config for multiple sites/networks

Posted Sep 03, 2013 11:31 AM

I am new to Aruba Instant products and looking how to set this up. I have 4 different offices, obviously 4 different networks. I want users at all offices to have the same SSID and the same password and be able to connect seamlessly regardless of what office they are at.

My understanding is that this is possible with the AP105?

I setup my initial office with just basic/default settings. I have 3 units working fine so far. Now - how do I provision and manage the units at remote sites?

Do I plug in my remaining units into my main LAN and let them inherit the config and then ship them off to the remote sites? Obviously they will then elect a new Virtual Controller, so how do I manage the remote AP's?

Is there a better way to set this up?

Thanks,

• 2.  RE: Instant 105 config for multiple sites/networks

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 03, 2013 11:36 AM

Yes...you can get the config as inherited before shipping it out.  For a multi-site deployment, I would recommend Airwave for management.  All reporting, troubleshooting, and config management can be done there.

Your other option is to backup the config (recommended anyway) and then import into the remote side as well.  That should work too.

• 3.  RE: Instant 105 config for multiple sites/networks

Posted Sep 03, 2013 11:41 AM

Other then airwave (which I was told by a sales person I would not need) how can I remotely view/monitor and manage the "remote" networks?