Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Interface errors

[ Edited ]

the uplink from our 3400 has been getting errors to the tune of ~1200 an hour. I would think this would be a cabling issue, but I would expect the errors to fluctuate more and give types of errors (CRC, Giant ect).  Anyone have any ideas what could cause this or where I should look?

 

Last clearing of "show interface" counters 4 day 14 hr 15 min 15 sec
link status last changed 4 day 14 hr 12 min 18 sec
33106926 packets input, 8426532987 bytes
Received 3197391 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
120364 input error bytes, 0 CRC, 0 frame

 

 

We run multicast on the LAN but dont have any multicast settings on the controller configured.  That was my only other idea.  Thanks.

MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Interface errors

 

Check the following :

-  Gbics , Cabling

- Speed / Duplex settings

- Do you have configured as a port-channels ?

 

Are you experiencing issues with users or APs rebooting / bootstrapping ?

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Re: Interface errors

It is using the copper port. (Could configure another port and have someone move the cable over). 

 

Both sides are configured auto auto negotiating to 1000 full (as they should)

 

No port channel.

 

No issues that I have been made aware of.  Layer 1 seems the most likely to me too (just wish it wasn's as this is a remote site).  

 

MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Interface errors

 

 

Are you also seeing errors on the uplink interfaces ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Re: Interface errors

[ Edited ]

Uplink interface is clean.  

 

 MTU 1500 bytes, BW 1000000 Kbit, DLY 10 usec,
     reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
  Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
  Keepalive set (10 sec)
  Full-duplex, 1000Mb/s, media type is 10/100/1000BaseTX
  input flow-control is off, output flow-control is unsupported
  ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
  Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
  Last clearing of "show interface" counters 3w1d
  Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
  Queueing strategy: fifo
  Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
  5 minute input rate 121000 bits/sec, 65 packets/sec
  5 minute output rate 176000 bits/sec, 79 packets/sec
     98265641 packets input, 20353659260 bytes, 0 no buffer
     Received 1141185 broadcasts (1064312 multicasts)
     0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
     0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored
     0 watchdog, 1064312 multicast, 0 pause input
     0 input packets with dribble condition detected
     123227648 packets output, 34328504737 bytes, 0 underruns
     0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
     0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
     0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier, 0 PAUSE output
     0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Interface errors

 

 

What code are you running ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Interface errors

 

 

You could try using another GBIC or reseating , that has happened to me a couple of times.

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Re: Interface errors

6.2.0.1

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Re: Interface errors

Yeah, just easier to troubleshoot missconfigurations remotely than it is physical. Thanks.  Will report my findings after changing out physical interfaces.

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: Interface errors

Try manually set your speed and duplex mode both on Controller and the switches port.

 

 

Goodluck!

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: