Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Issue with random users and mobile devices not able to connect to the Aruba

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Issue with random users and mobile devices not able to connect to the Aruba

Posted Dec 06, 2011 11:41 AM

Hi all,

Just a heads up I am extremely new to supporting our Aruba.  Our controller supports 11 different Aruba 105 AP's.

Recently I had a user approach me and ask why the wi-fi suddenly was "broken."  I then checked with one of our Windows admins and he could get access on his phone, but not his laptop.

The issue they are seeing, is they can see the wi-fi network being broadcast and they attempt to connect to it.  The next step in our authentication process is to load up any web page in the browser, and that normally loads up the Aruba page where we enter our login credentials.

I have a phone and a tablet, and always get normal behavior.  There are several users however, that do not get to the Aruba log in web page.  So they are effectively connected to the wi-fi but not authorized so no data transfers.

Any tips would be appreciated on troubleshooting this problem.  Thanks in advance!

*I have verified none of the affected users have static IP's entered into their wi-fi settings.*

• 2.  RE: Issue with random users and mobile devices not able to connect to the Aruba

Posted Dec 06, 2011 12:16 PM

you've captive portal auth?

all clients get ip from the same dhcp server?

if not all dhcp server pass dns server informations?

• 3.  RE: Issue with random users and mobile devices not able to connect to the Aruba

Posted Dec 06, 2011 12:22 PM

It seems that you are using captive-portal authentication.

Please check for OCSP. Go to aruba support site and search for OCSP under KB section for details.