Wireless Access

Occasional Contributor II

Issues with Physical Move of Master Controller

We are in the process of moving our Data Center from STL to Dallas.  I have a new Master Controller with the same config as the existing controller minus the interface updates. 

We attempted to swing our local controllers over to the new Master tonight.  I changed the Master IP on the local controller, saved, and reloaded.  The Local controller came up on the new master with no issues. 

The AP's attached to the Local controller also came up with no issues but the RAP's did not.  Previous to the change we made a DNS entry update to ping the master.com name to the new external IP address.  We checked several dns lookup services to verify the change had propagated. 

I have a local RAP3 and I rebooted it for it to reconnect to the original Master Controller. 

My question is do the RAP's cache the dns entry?  If so, how can that be cleared remotely to move these to the new Master?  If not, what would be the reason this RAP's are not attaching back to the New Master? 

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Daniel

Re: Issues with Physical Move of Master Controller

Hi,

More than likely the new controller does not have the NAT pool for the RAPs.  I can't remember the exact command, but search through the old master for a config that contains the word 'local' and you'll work out which command you need to put it.

If you can remember what inner ip the RAPs had when they came up, that will make it easier and you'll spot it.

If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACCX #817, ACMP, ACMX #294
Guru Elite

Michael_Clarke is 100% correct.

In addition, you should have a firewall that NATs your inbound traffic from the public address that RAPs point to, to the private address that the master USED TO BE.  That NAT statement on your inbound firewall most likely has to be updated with the new master's ip address...

Colin Joseph