Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Hi,

 

I am having trouble getting an LACP Port channel working between an aruba s3548 and a cisco catalyst 3750 switch.  I am able to get the port channel up, but the trunking does not seem to take effect.  I am only able to access vlan 1.  When the cisco ports come up,  they are amber for 40 seconds leading me to beleive they are coming up in access mode.  Below  are the configs I am using.

 

--#  Cisco 3750 Config #--
spanning-tree mode pvst
!
interface Port-channel1
!
Interface GigabitEthernet 1/0/3
   Description Uplink Port
   switchport mode trunk encapsulation dot1q
   switchport mode trunk
   channel-group 1 mode passive

Interface GigabitEthernet 1/0/4
   Description Uplink Port
   switchport mode trunk encapsulation dot1q
   switchport mode trunk
   channel-group 1 mode passive

--Interface Status --
status
   Gi1/0/3                      connected    trunk      a-full a-1000 10/100/1000BaseTX SFP
   Gi1/0/4                      connected    trunk      a-full a-1000 10/100/1000BaseTX SFP
   Po1                          notconnect   unassigned   auto   auto

--# Aruba 3548 config #--

spanning-tree
   mode pvst
   
interface-profile switching-profile "Trunk Port"
   switchport-mode trunk

interface-profile lacp-profile "3750"
   group-id 1
   mode active
   timeout short
   
interface port-channel "1"
   switching-profile "Trunk Port"
   enet-link-profile pc_default
   
interface gigabitethernet "1/0/36"
   lacp-profile "3750"
   
interface gigabitethernet "1/0/37"
   lacp-profile "3750"

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,765
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Looks like you are missing the switchport configuration on the port-channel on the Cisco side.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Hi,

 

That was a fast response.  I have tried it with the following (am willing to try again)  it did not seem to make a difference.

 

interafce portchannel1

   switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

   switchport mode trunk

 

The interfaces had the same ctrunk commands as well.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,765
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Are all of your VLANs defined on both switches?


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Hi,

 

I can safely say that they are NOT.  I will give this a try and report back.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Hi,

 

Sorry got busy and just last night had some time to test this again.  I made sure the same vlans existed on both sides.  I also limited the vlans that were on the trunk,  no luck.   Below are the latest configs I was using.  Same thing,  cisco ports would show a spanning tree negotiation in the form of amber ports for some time,  the link would come up for about 3 seconds then shut down.  I also tried setting the cisco side to a static port channel by using "channel-group 1 mode on"   this did not help.

 

 

--= Cisco 3750 config =--

spanning-tree mode pvst

interface FastEthernet1/0/21
 description Uplink to Aruba
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,8,10,21,22,23,24
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode passive
!
interface FastEthernet1/0/22
 description Uplink to Aruba
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,8,10,21,22,23,24
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode passive
 
interface Port-channel1
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1
 switchport mode trunk
 
--= Aruba s3500 Config =--
 
 spanning-tree
   mode pvst
 
interface-profile switching-profile "Trunk Port"
   switchport-mode trunk
   trunk allowed vlan 1,8,10,21-24
   
interface-profile lacp-profile "3750"
   group-id 1
   mode active

interface gigabitethernet "1/0/34"
   enet-link-profile pc_default
   lacp-profile "3750"

interface gigabitethernet "1/0/35"
   enet-link-profile pc_default
   lacp-profile "3750"
   
interface port-channel "1"
   switching-profile "Trunk Port"
   enet-link-profile pc_default

Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

dymes,

I didn't notice it before in your config but your 3750 only has FastEthernet ports right. I think the issue is a Layer 1 configuration mismatch. This is the Layer 1 setting for port-channels by default:

 

(host) # show interface-profile enet-link-profile pc_default

Ethernet Link "pc_default" (Predefined (changed))
-------------------------------------------------
Parameter        Value
---------        -----
Speed            1000
Duplex           full
Autonegotiation  Enabled
Flowcontrol      off

 

So it means that we're trying to bring the link up at GE speed. Make the following change:


!
interface-profile enet-link-profile "pc_default"
   speed 100
   duplex full
!

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: LACP Channel between aruba s3548 and cisco 3750

Thank you all,  This is now working (in my lab at least,  Need to do some production stuff)  Below are my final configs.

 

--== Cisco 3750 ==--


spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id

lldp run

interface FastEthernet1/0/45
 description Uplink to Aruba
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-3
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode active

interface FastEthernet1/0/46
 description Uplink to Aruba
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-3
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode active
!
interface FastEthernet1/0/47
 description Uplink to Aruba
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-3
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode active
!
interface FastEthernet1/0/48
 description Uplink to Aruba
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-3
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode active

interface Port-channel1
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-3
 switchport mode trunk

 

 

--== Aruba s3500 ==--

 

interface-profile switching-profile "Trunk Port"
switchport-mode trunk
trunk allowed vlan 1-3

interface-profile poe-profile "uplink"

interface-profile enet-link-profile "3750-enet"
   speed 100
   duplex full

interface-profile lacp-profile "3750"
   group-id 1
   mode active
   timeout short

interface-profile lldp-profile "uplink"
   lldp transmit
   lldp receive

spanning-tree
   mode pvst

vlan "1"
   description "LAN Access"

vlan "2"
   description "Accounting"

vlan "3"
   description "Wireless"

interface gigabitethernet "0/0/44"
   lldp-profile "uplink"
   poe-profile "uplink"
   enet-link-profile "3750-enet"
   lacp-profile "3750"

interface gigabitethernet "0/0/45"
   lldp-profile "uplink"
   poe-profile "uplink"
   enet-link-profile "3750-enet"
   lacp-profile "3750"

interface gigabitethernet "0/0/46"
   lldp-profile "uplink"
   poe-profile "uplink"
   enet-link-profile "3750-enet"
   lacp-profile "3750"

interface gigabitethernet "0/0/47"
   lldp-profile "uplink"
   enet-link-profile "3750-enet"
   lacp-profile "3750"

interface port-channel "1"
   enet-link-profile "3750-enet"
   switching-profile "Trunk Port"

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: