Wireless Access

last person joined: 22 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

LMS Preemption

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  LMS Preemption

Posted Feb 15, 2013 11:53 AM

I have a Master-Local setup. LMS is configured such that the local is primary and master is backup. When testing a local failure, all of my APs roll to the backup LMS as planned. Outside of rebooting the master, how can I force the APs to terminate back to the backup? Is it as simple as re-enabling the preemption temporarily? I don't want to always have preemption enabled in the event a controller is in the process of failing, and reboots itself every so often.

Thanks

• 2.  RE: LMS Preemption
    Best Answer

Posted Feb 15, 2013 12:05 PM

(Aruba650) (AP system profile "test") #lms-h?
    lms-hold-down-period    Amount of time AP needs to stay on backup LMS before
                            switching to primary. Range: 1-3600. Default: 600.

This stops the AP's from switching back during a  bootup.

Or

The other way of doing this (if the master and local can be on the same subnet) is to use VRRP rather than bkup-lms-ip, we can set a delay before VRRP wil preempt.

(Aruba650) (config) #vrrp 1

(Aruba650) (config-vrrp)#preempt delay ?
    <seconds>               Delay in seconds (0-60)

So we can wait for the controller to come up before it takes over again + there is interface tracking etc.

• 3.  RE: LMS Preemption

Posted Feb 18, 2013 07:41 PM