Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-20-2014

Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

Hey Gurus,

My company has two Aruba 6000 controllers. They both used to service all of our sites redundantly, however, they have been segregated into two masters for two separate sites. This was done by an outside contractor so I didn't have anything to do with the process. We have recently been expanding, and it looks like the contractor didn't remove the APs from the controller that was moved to the second location. These APs he didn't remove are no longer going to be serviced by that controller. Will having those present on the controller use up our licenses that are designated for that controller? The reason I'm asking is that we've been expanding and have been adding new APs. I'm now not seeing any of our new APs coming up to be provisioned, even though there is no routing or communication issues(I've confirmed this through various means.) A few days ago I was able to plug APs directly into the same switch port using the cables, and they came up to be provisioned. We've installed a couple others in different locations since then and that makes me think we've exceed our licenses which is why these aren't coming up now.

 

Any help is appreicated ladies and gents!

 

Thanks.

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

You can go to Monitoring --> All access points and clear out the old APs no longer associated anymore.

 

 

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-20-2014

Re: Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

Thanks for the quick response. I'm in the process of doing that now :)

Do the APs that aren't associated anymore use up licenses?

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

Can you send the output of show license?

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

No, only APs that are currently active on a controller will consume licenses.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-20-2014

Re: Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

Okay, that's why I needed to know. Thanks.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-20-2014

Re: Licenses being used on Aruba 6000 controllers/Not appearing for provisioning

Here's the output of show license:

 

License Table
-------------
Key Installed Expires Flags Service Type
--- --------- ------- ----- ------------
w/OQxZnR-JvAUlTm6-l6vc5oC9-q3yC5ofx-qVoanTId-iYk 2012-07-12 Never E Next Generation Policy Enforcement Firewall Module: 512
07:39:26
HvVcZUu/-/psmwqNb-drc7s0It-svi5A4lz-bbuXMnuN-qc4 2012-07-12 Never E RF Protect: 512
07:39:42
xTM8XSB6-24Ia1XgN-tdXkVAEW-BYSSQO0U-wB1BCjRn-Av8 2012-07-12 Never E Access Points: 512
07:39:57

License Entries: 3

Flags: A - auto-generated; E - enabled; R - reboot required to activate

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: