Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-12-2012

Licensing and Reports

Two questions;

 

Is it possible for AMP to push or update controller licenses for either Aruba or Cisco vendors?  I know you can update and push controller firmware and code, can't seem to find the option for licensing in AMP.

 

Also has anyone had any trouble generating the Daily Licensing reports.  We have two Aruba controllers (1 Master 1 Local) that are licensed but when generating the daily reports, the Licensing report come back blank.  If anyone can shed some light would be much appreciative.

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,271
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Licensing and Reports

[ Edited ]

1.  You cannot push licenses to devices

2.  Make sure that, in addition to SNMP variable, you also have the correct username, password and enable configured for that device.

 

If you can run controller and user commands, you should be able to get a licensing report.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-12-2012

Re: Licensing and Reports

#2 I know that is why I am a little confused about why these reports are generating blank,  When I run the Daily Device and Network Usage reports I get detailed statement on the Controllers, APs, and Switches.

 

Thanks for your help and I will keep truckin away at it!

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,271
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Licensing and Reports


MiMoNerd86 wrote:

#2 I know that is why I am a little confused about why these reports are generating blank,  When I run the Daily Device and Network Usage reports I get detailed statement on the Controllers, APs, and Switches.

 

Thanks for your help and I will keep truckin away at it!


So, you can get 90 to 95% of reports via just the SNMP read.  The licensing report requires username/password enable to retrieve.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-01-2012

Re: Licensing and Reports

Actually the license report uses license data from SNMP, not the CLI (although in Airwave 7.5 we also use data from the "show license limits" CLI command).

 

The license report has a default threshold of 80%, so it will only show licenses that are nearing capacity. Try editing the report definition to a lower threshold. In Airwave 7.5, this threshold has been made optional and is empty by default.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-12-2012

Re: Licensing and Reports

Thank you both, unfortunately I tried adjusting the Capacity Threshold using the values of 0, 1, 10, 40, 80 (default), and 100.  The report was still unable to generate any license information.

 

We are currently submitting a TAC into Aruba support on this subject, but if anyone else has any ideas please share.

 

Once again thanks!

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-12-2012

Re: Licensing and Reports

Just to anyone following updated, we just talked to Aruba Networks about the Licensing Reorts.  They can not confirm quite yet, but it appears to be a possible bug in AirWave version 7.4.2.

 

Will post once confirmed,

 

Cheers!

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-12-2012

Re: Licensing and Reports

It turns out that after spending some time with Aruba support it has been deemed the following answers to the problem;

 

AMP licensing report only works on aruba devices

 

AMP licensing report only works on devices running on 5.x.x.x code or higher.

 

I hope this may helps for future troubles for anyone, and also thanks again for the replies.

 

Peace,

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: