Wireless Access

Reply
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

M3 port speed

Just tried to change the port speed to 100Mbps on an M3 but I'm getting a reject message - "speed configuration not supported" an idea why?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,638
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: M3 port speed

There are only 1GB and 10GB ports, no 10/100/1000 ports.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: M3 port speed

Is there any way I can restrict the traffic flow through the port to 100Mbps?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,638
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: M3 port speed

Plug it into a dumb 10/100/1000 switch (trendnet, dlink, etc) and then plug the switch into the controller.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: M3 port speed

Not sure what you mean, however this is production controller so that would not be an option.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,638
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: M3 port speed

[ Edited ]

By using a dumb switch in the middle, you have the 100M link plug into the dumb switch then the dumb switch plugs into the controller at 1000M. It acts as a passive step down / up device.

 

Unfortunately there is no other way.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: M3 port speed

I see what you mean now, the customer would want a cleaner solution than that even though it would do the job. Thanks for the help anyway.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: