Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

Good day everyone,

We have a customer with a Master-Local setup.

 

We made a configuration change on the Master and its backup and it pushed the change down to the locals as expected but it also rebooted all of the locals?

 

I cannot find any documentation that explains this behavior? Is that normal?

Shouldn't the change just be through the IPSEC tunnel and update the required config?

 

AOS: 6.1.3.0

Master 3600

Locals: 620

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

For the Change to be received through IPSEC that for sure have happened. I am not sure if this is the usual behaviour.

 

But I want to ask did you change any thing on AP groups which already have APs associated with and terminated on the local controller ? it can be the normal case or it can be something on the configuration caused the locals to reboot.

 

did the master rebooted also ?

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

The change was done to a netdestination which holds walled garden entries.

I just added 2 more entries.

 

Master did not reboot.

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,761
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

That is NOT supposed to happen.  Are you sure the controllers rebooted, or the access points rebooted?  What version of Aruba Code is this?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?


cjoseph wrote:

That is NOT supposed to happen.  Are you sure the controllers rebooted, or the access points rebooted?  What version of Aruba Code is this?

 


its AOS: 6.1.3.0

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

[ Edited ]

cjoseph wrote:

That is NOT supposed to happen.  Are you sure the controllers rebooted, or the access points rebooted?  What version of Aruba Code is this?

 


 

Confirmed locals rebooted by typing "show version" and we have around 99 locals, i didn't check them all but we have a dashboard that monitors all the APs through querying SNMP on all the locals and all of the APs went offline.



Reboot Cause: Datapath timeout.


 

I know that 6.1.3.2 has over 100 bug fixes, maybe it is time to upgrade to 6.1.3.4???

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

go for 6.1.3.3 its a stable version.  good luck :smileyhappy:

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

is there anything wrong with 6.1.3.4?

 

I have it deployed at other locations.

 

 

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

To be honest I do not know, I even did not go for the release note to see what fixes it has. But I recommed that you usually contact ARUBA TAC and ask for the most stable version because they are the ones who face and receive all the complains mostly "Bugs". I was informed that 6.1.3.3 is stable and goes fine. But you can use 6.1.3.4 for sure no issue. thats all.

 

:)

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Master-Local Configuration change reboots locals?

Thank you Abi.

 

I am still trying to find information or a configuration setting that would reboot all of my locals after I make a config change to the master.

 

I assume that if I reboot the master, the locals will reboot as well since the IPSEC tunnel is broken?

We are providing an external captive portal, therefore if the master goes down, the locals do not work.

Which is not the way it should be since the locals in theory should continue to function

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: