Wireless Access

last person joined: 9 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Master-Local IPSec connection not happening

This thread has been viewed 13 times
  • 1.  Master-Local IPSec connection not happening

Posted Jun 01, 2012 12:51 PM

Before I talk to India I thought I throw this out here.

I have a site with Master/Master backup and 5 local controllers running 3.4.4FIPS.

Recently had to replace a local sup card, the new one which was configured with basic IP settings to enable me to access. I have full HTTPS/SSL connectivity, was able to upgrade to current code and transfer licenses, but cannot get the Master connect to the local. I have deleted the Local Controller IPSec config and readded it on the Master to no avail. I can ping the local from any other local (or other devices), but not from either of the masters. The other locals are in other buildings and subnets, this is a layer 2 network. From the new local I can ping whatever I want, masters, locals, gateways.....

Any thoughts?

• 2.  RE: Master-Local IPSec connection not happening

Posted Jun 01, 2012 01:42 PM

Ping from the masters is probably not working because IPSEC is trying to get established. If you were to remove the master-local configuration from both controllers, the ping should recover.

You can enable "logging level debugging security" on the master and local controller, and check "show log security 50" to understand why the IPSEC is not getting established.

A few more commands to check to determine whether phase1 or phase2 is failing are:

show crypto isakmp sa

show crypto ipsec sa

• 3.  RE: Master-Local IPSec connection not happening

Posted Jun 01, 2012 04:23 PM