Wireless Access

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Master-Master vrrp redundancy - failing stays MASTER

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  Master-Master vrrp redundancy - failing stays MASTER

Posted Feb 28, 2014 12:33 PM

This is my first time configuring MASTER-MASTER redundancy, so I'm not sure if the behavior I'm seeing is correct for the configuration I have.

I have 2qty  7200 series controllers.  One is a 7210, the other is a 7240.

There are no local controllers.

Running AOS 6.3.1.2

See attachment Preferred Master.txt,  for vrrp config 

See attachment Backup Master.txt,  for vrrp config 

When I break all links to the Preferred MASTER, instead of seeing "backup" in the vrrp status it shows the following:

Virtual Router 99:
    Description Preferred-Master
    Admin State UP, VR State MASTER
    IP Address 10.1.100.3, MAC Address 00:00:5e:00:01:63, vlan 100
    Priority 120, Advertisement 1 sec, Preemption Disable Delay 0
    Auth type PASSWORD, Auth data: ********
    tracking is not enabled

Virtual Router 157:
    Description NMS-VLAN57-Master
    Admin State UP, VR State INIT
    IP Address 10.1.57.3, MAC Address 00:00:5e:00:01:9d, vlan 57
    Auth type NONE ********
    tracking is not enabled

Virtual Router 205:
    Description user-VLAN5-master
    IP Address 10.1.5.3, MAC Address 00:00:5e:00:01:cd, vlan 5
    Auth type NONE ********
    tracking is not enabled

Virtual Router 206:
    Description user-VLAN6-Master
    IP Address 10.1.6.3, MAC Address 00:00:5e:00:01:ce, vlan 6
    Auth type NONE ********
    tracking is not enabled

Virtual Router 207:
    Description user-VLAN7-Master
    IP Address 10.1.7.3, MAC Address 00:00:5e:00:01:cf, vlan 7
    Auth type NONE ********
    tracking is not enabled

Also notice that I do not have preemtion enabled.