Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-02-2014

May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

 
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

[ Edited ]

Do you have the PEF-V license for your controller?

 

Please take a look at the VIA validated reference design.

 

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/Virtual-Intranet-Access-VIA/ta-p/155614


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-02-2014

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

May you please let me know how to check if I have PEF-V license for my controller?

Thanks,

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

show keys

 

(BOSTON-7010) #show keys

Licensed Features
-----------------
Feature                                             Status
-------                                             ------
Access Points                                       4
RF Protect                                          0
VPN Server Module                                   4096
xSec Module                                         0
Next Generation Policy Enforcement Firewall Module  4
Advanced Cryptography                               0
RF Protect                                          DISABLED
Policy Enforcement Firewall                         ENABLED
VPN Server                                          ENABLED
xSec Module                                         DISABLED
Policy Enforcement Firewall for VPN users           ENABLED
Advanced Cryptography                               DISABLED
Maritime Regulatory Domain                          DISABLED

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-02-2014

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

Thank you very much!

I do not have that license.

May you please let me know if the only thing I need to do is to configure the controller as long as I get the license?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

There is a good amount of configuration on the controller. Follow the VRD.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎10-20-2010

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

I am going through this currently.  In summary you have to:

 

  • Install the license (note you can download an evaluation licenses from aruba if needed)  Requires a controller reboot to load.
  • Download the Via client for the OS you want to support and upload it to the controller so your users have a place to get the client which would be the controller https://URL/via address.
  • The users have to install the VIA client
  • You have to configure the controller to support via and the authentication types you want to use.  Start with the basics like user auth only EAP-PEAP and then try adding machine authentication and then switch it all over to certificate based authentications.  I went down this path and there are little gotchas here and there.  6.5.1 CPPm did not work well with Certs the PCs EAP-TLS but it is suppose to be fixed in the current 6.5.2 release but I have not yet tested. 

Good luck.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: May someone tell me what need to be done on the Aruba controllers to make Aruba VIA work?

ase.arubanetworks.com<>

There is a solution for VIA. Only problem I know of is the local user db on the controller not working for VIA auth in 6.4.3.1.
Thanks,

Zach Jennings
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: