Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Memory Upgrade Required for 3200 before AOS6 upgrade?

Does the 3200 controllers need an upgrade of it's memory before I can upgrade them to AOS6? I've looked around and couldn't find any info on this... thanks

Aruba Employee
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: Memory Upgrade Required for 3200 before AOS6 upgrade?

For 6.1, no. But I believe it may be required for 6.2 or beyond.

Thanks,

Zach Jennings
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: Memory Upgrade Required for 3200 before AOS6 upgrade?

Thanks! That will save us tons of money... for now. :smileywink:

MVP
Posts: 1,418
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Memory Upgrade Required for 3200 before AOS6 upgrade?

6.2 is no longer officially supported on a 3200 without the memory upgrade.

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
MVP
Posts: 2,958
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Memory Upgrade Required for 3200 before AOS6 upgrade?

When you mean memory upgrade you mean that you buy it and install it yourself opening the 3200?

What about the smallers like 620? and 650?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

good question NightShade. Also, this new memory should be...

good question NightShade. Also, this new memory should be bought from ARUBA with special Specification and Installation ?

 

:)

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,821
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: good question NightShade. Also, this new memory should be...

Only the 3200 is supported.

You get a stick of memory and an anti-static strap

You would have to open and install it yourself...



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 2,958
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: good question NightShade. Also, this new memory should be...

okay Collin

Let me see if i understood you

1-On 3200 it will acept the memory upgrade but you willl have to install iit yourslef?

Does not this break the warranty you have with Aruba for your equipment cause you are opening and installing this yourself?

 

2-So this mean 650 and 620 Cannot go farther than 6.1.x? they cannot be upgraded to 6.2?

3-What about the other models ? 6400? and other superior ones? i guess thereshouldnt havea problem with 6.2 right?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Contributor I
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: good question NightShade. Also, this new memory should be...

Our 620/650 and 6K/M3 controllers accepted the 6.2 upgraded OS.  The only problem we had was with the older 3200 (non-XM) model which is running 512Mb memory.  I'm going to try an off the shelf (DELL) 1Gb DDR2-DIMM memory stick using the install instructions before investing $300 per stick with the Aruba version.  I have a ginorous box of 1Gb sticks from dell server upgrades.   Fingers crossed. 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: good question NightShade. Also, this new memory should be...

Did you succeed installing those Dell sticks? =)

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: