Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Migrating RAP2&5 to a different controller

Hi All,

We are currently trying to migrate a load of RAP2s and RAP5s off our 7240 controller to our older 6000 controller so that we can upgrade the 7240 to the 6.4 OS.

We have set up a profile which amends the LMS IP of the RAPs to the 6000 controller and they are currently working, however I wondered if there is a way to get them to change the master IP address on these specific devices as every time the RAPs are turned off they are going to the 7240s to get their configuration first then pushed to the 6000. I'm guessing this is because the original master address that was used is the external IP of the 7240.

I haven't upgraded the 7240 yet incase it stops allowing the RAP2 & 5s to be forwarded.

Both controllers are currently on 6.3.1.19.

Thanks

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,339
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Migrating RAP2

You can put them in a separate group and then apply a provisioning profile which will set the masterip.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: Migrating RAP2

Thanks Tim,

would you put the provisioning profile on the 7240 and the 6000 or just the 7240 so that it pushed it across to the 6000s master IP?

Also when creating a provisioning profile is it just the masterstr you fill in with the new masters external IP address. 

Lastly would I have to tick the Remote-AP box (i'm presuming I would!?)

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,339
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Migrating RAP2

You would build it wherever the RAPs currently are connected.

 

Yes, you would set the new master IP and remote AP checkbox.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: Migrating RAP2

Thanks Tim I created a provisioning profile on the 7240 to push to the 6000 with RAP ticked and the 6000s external and this seems to be pushing it over well, i havent re-created the provisioning profile on the 6000 as the above seems to be doing a good job! i did test it but for some reason got them in a loop.

I've tried restarting my test RAP2 and it doesnt go back to my 7240

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,339
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Migrating RAP2

What does "show log security 20" and "show log system 20" on the controller show?

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,821
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Migrating RAP2


bellarious wrote:

Thanks Tim I created a provisioning profile on the 7240 to push to the 6000 with RAP ticked and the 6000s external and this seems to be pushing it over well, i havent re-created the provisioning profile on the 6000 as the above seems to be doing a good job! i did test it but for some reason got them in a loop.

I've tried restarting my test RAP2 and it doesnt go back to my 7240


Bellarious,

 

Please make sure that in your Ap-Group, in the AP system profile, there is no lms-ip.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: Migrating RAP2

Hi Tim,

This just has some channel interferences and some rogue AP detections in it.

In the show log syetem there are only a few of the errors below but nothing relating to my test APs

 printk: 6 messages suppressed.

asap_firewall_forward: br0, insufficient headroom, require 66, but 54, skb data length 174.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: