Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Mobility Controller for a AP-225 & AP Licencing

This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  Mobility Controller for a AP-225 & AP Licencing

Posted Oct 08, 2017 01:02 AM

Hi,

I'm new to Aruba and as I understand it the AP-225 is a controller based AP and as such can't run in standalone mode as and Instant AP and can't be converted to an IAP-225 via a firmware change.  I just wanted to verify the 7010-RW Mobility Controller is suitable to control a AP-225 and if the correct licence for a single AP-225 is the product code: JW472AAE before I purchase these items.  Also is there anything else required to make this AP functional? This AP would be running on a home network and Authentication would be via WPA2 with a username & password. 

Thanks for your time.

• 2.  RE: Mobility Controller for a AP-225 & AP Licencing

Posted Oct 08, 2017 08:07 AM

Can anybody also tell me if the 7010-RW Mobility Controller comes with a permanent Base OS Licence or if that has to be purchased seperately.

I assume the Base OS Licence is required in order for the Controller to function & to load AP Licences onto it, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks.

• 3.  RE: Mobility Controller for a AP-225 & AP Licencing
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 08, 2017 08:11 AM

@uptime wrote:

Can anybody also tell me if the 7010-RW Mobility Controller comes with a permanent Base OS Licence or if that has to be purchased seperately.

I assume the Base OS Licence is required in order for the Controller to function & to load AP Licences onto it, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks.

It does not come with or require a Base OS license.

• 4.  RE: Mobility Controller for a AP-225 & AP Licencing

Posted Nov 27, 2017 07:23 AM

Hi there,