Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-19-2015

Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

Hi, 

 

How do i monitor & graph the CPU and memory usage of the Aruba access-points with airwave. 

 

or does the Airwave do it normally, how can i check  it?

 

Please advise.

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

The AP CPU and Memory is not graphed in Airwave, unfortunately.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-27-2013

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

If it is not graphed can AMP send alerts for memory or CPU over a certian threshold as a means to monitor an AP's load. Alternatively, any other variable that can be graphed or alerts sent for which would indicate an AP under heavy load would be very helpful.

Thanks,

Fred

MVP
Posts: 1,357
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

You can track and alert on when APs have X number of clients on the AP, that would likely be the best indicator. You just have to pick what you feel is a high number of clients per AP, as well as what that number is for each type of AP (the 225 can handle more clients without issue than say the 205, etc). 

 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-27-2013

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

We do that now, but what we see is associated users and authenticated users combined., not authenticated users only. I thnk we are more interested in the number of authenticated users, if we can get that.

Thanks,

 Fred

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

Fred@Florida,

 

It depends what you are looking for.  APs have built in mechanisms to reclaim the memory or limit the CPU usage.

 

It could be more helpful to set a trigger for channel utilization.  You can have plenty of users attached, but when the channel is becoming saturated, that is probably when you want to take a look.  Wireless clients are bursty, however, and the channel utilization can rise and lower rather quickly.  Running an RF health report on your top folders or the specific folders that you are concerned with is a good way to understand where your APs with the worst RF performance are over a period of time.  You are more likely to have bad RF, rather than poor AP "system" performance like high cpu and memory.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Moderator
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

At some point this was (is?) planned to be added to Airwave as the data is already present in the AMON stream. Is this for a case or is it just a general feature/request type of question?

regards

-jeff

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-19-2015

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

well, we see randomly AP's rebooting with Heartbeat miss(6.4.3.3) & switching to the backup LMS. We are able to see the the highest CPU in the last one hour from the system-status CLI command, However, we would like to check the CPU and memory status, when an AP had rebooted/bootstraped two or three hours ago. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

Heartbeat miss is normally a connectivity issues. Make sure the access point has negotiated correctly and does not have any errors on its port. Check the same on the uplink to the controller.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Moderator
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: Monitor and graph AP's CPU and memory

there was a bug recently where a buffer leak on the AP manifested in the manner you describe (hb miss and reboot) - what version of AOS are you running and what is the AP model?

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: