Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

What is the "Use ip address for calling station ID" on the server group > Radius server > "create a server" does? I could not find any information on the user guide... Please someone help me in understanding this option..

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

Some radius servers want to see the the ip address as the calling station ID.  This offers the option to send it.  It is not a standard setup and not used often.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

 

2014-01-27 20_00_56-d1x3hnhct7p62q.cloudfront.net_SupportSite_ProductionFiles_0f3059cf-ba85-4a55-af7.png

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

Thank you for the answer..

 

Is there any debug commands we can run on the controller to check whether the controller sending the option with ipaddress instead of client mac? 

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

 

If you turn on "logging level debugging security process authmgr"

 

(HOME-MASTER-CONTROLLER) #show log security all | include Calling
Jan 27 08:53:06 :121031: <DBUG> |authmgr| |aaa| [rc_rfc3576.c:95] Calling-Station-Id: <mac or ip address>

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

Prasad,

 

You should be able to see the "calling station ID" on the radius server clearly.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

I have tested however not able to see the calling station ID on the logs.

 

Could you please clarify: 

 

I understand that the 802.1x is a layer 2 authentication. When the client will send the calling station ID with the ip-address? The calling-station id will be sent at the time of authentication or it will be sent after the authentication? 

 

Could you please explain me the process briefly. 

 

Thank you in advance. 

MVP
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎11-28-2011

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

[ Edited ]

Although I haven't used this I'm going to hazard a guess...

 

If you're using dot1x, the calling station couldn't be the IP, as layer3 wouldn't be established. It would have to be the MAC.

 

 And if you don't see it on the server, I'm guessing it's rather the server isn't interpreting it, rather than the controller not sending it?

 

Kudos appreciated, but I'm not hunting! (ACMX 104)
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

We did a packet capture at the controller end and we do not see the calling station id with ip address. We assigned a static ip address on the client and tested it.

 

controller running 6.2.1.4

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Need some information about the Use IP address for calling station ID

The feature is ONLY for Captive Portal authentication, and NOT 802.1x, where you do not get an ip address until AFTER authentication.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: