Wireless Access

Reply
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

No 5ghz client associations

I have a setup with 105's configured as RAPs on remote sites. No clients seem to be associating on the 5GHz band. When i ran the arm  scan times command it showed large amounts of attempted scans but the same amount of scans rejected for just about every channel. Any thoughts?

Matt

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

is that remote AP on another country?

if so try putting the regulatory domain of that country to that AP

But BE CAREFUL create another AP group just for that AP and create a new regulatory domain profile that just apply to THAT AP group... you dont want to kill all the wireless :)

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

[ Edited ]

Also have someone in side with a console cable if something happen he can manually configure it through console :) 

Before doing anything tell him to do print so he can see the config of the rap.

Well you will need to reboot it and enter in the mo cpboot mode and do print there.

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

The RAPs are in many multiple sites 2-5 RAPs in each across the same country. The 2.4GHz band is still serving clients but the 5GHz seems to be dormant. Rebooting the RAPs corrects the problem. But with hundreds of RAPs it is not practical to be rebooting them. No on site support either so plugging a console cable into them is not an option.

Matt

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

You mean you need to reboot them?

i mean not just with one reboot i mean that you will need to reboot it now and then to fix the problem??

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,294
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: No 5ghz client associations


Matt Finnie wrote:

The RAPs are in many multiple sites 2-5 RAPs in each across the same country. The 2.4GHz band is still serving clients but the 5GHz seems to be dormant. Rebooting the RAPs corrects the problem. But with hundreds of RAPs it is not practical to be rebooting them. No on site support either so plugging a console cable into them is not an option.

Matt


You have a number of options to reboot access points on a controller using the commandline without a console:

(host) >en
Password:******
(host) #apboot ?
all                     Reboot all APs
ap-group                Reboot APs in this group
ap-name                 Reboot AP with this name
ip-addr                 Reboot AP at this IP address
wired-mac               Reboot AP at this MAC address

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

Rebooting seems to fix the problem. However we need to work out what is causing this to happen. By the way they are configured to be in the proper regulatory domain.

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

[ Edited ]

Hello Collin

i know that

I mean the console thing just in case something bad happens.. and he loose conectivity to the Remote AP someone in site can reconfigure it manually through the console

He can do it through the GUI on maintance also. :)

 

About the regulatory domain just checking... :)

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: No 5ghz client associations

Can you grab the tech support file from one of the RAPs and attach it:

 

WebUI:  Diagnostics --> Access  Point --> Technical Support --> Choose your RAP --> Click Create Report --> Then Download Report when it is completed.

 

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: No 5ghz client associations

Attached is the TS from one of the APs I haven't looked through it in detail but I did notice that running the show ap arm scan-times showed that most of the scans were rejected.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: