Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-21-2017

Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

We have a few 205 IAPs and they don't seem to respond to ARP requests from wired connection and neither from wired lan. Any idea what could be wrong with their configuration?

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-02-2015

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

What's the output of the console on boot up of the IAP?
Cheers,
Frank
Life off the wire
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,815
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts


sohannin wrote:

We have a few 205 IAPs and they don't seem to respond to ARP requests from wired connection and neither from wired lan. Any idea what could be wrong with their configuration?


When you say "arp requests", what are you trying to do?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-21-2017

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Trying to ping them. They respond intermittently to ping, but not always. I see a lot of destination unreachable messages for packets destined to them.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-21-2017

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Hmm, I'm a newbie with Arubas, so I don't even know how to see that boot screen?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,815
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Are those APS present in the CAM/ARP table of the layer 3 switch?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-21-2017

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

No, they don't seem to appear there either. Other devices from the same network are in the arp table.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,815
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Do you have the AP plugged into ethernet 0?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-21-2017

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

[ Edited ]

Yes, that is the case. They respond sometimes.


Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-21-2017

Re: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

A correction: I checked again and they actually show up in the ARP table of the switch. When pinged e.g. from workstation, the workstation sends ARP broadcast, but never receiving response from the device attached to the same switch. I still see the same IAP sending broadcasts itself, asking for MAC of other devices (IAPs) on the same network.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: