Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-14-2016

Problem with connecting AP to the controller

Hi,

I'm newbie in Aruba products and controller, I used simply Wifi router for home users so far, so be understanding please :-)

 

I have controller W3200 and 4x AP124. I startup controller, gave it name, address ip, netmask, gateway, admin & enable password, country code, time etc. everything like is written in Quick Start Guide. I have access to the controller from web browser, and have acces via console. I didn't install any licences. I enable DHCP on controller, and this is the only DHCP service in my network.

My network consist now from: controller, simply cisco gigabit switch, and my laptop.

I try co connect AP, but can't see it in controller. I'm looking it in tab "Configuration->Wireless->Ap Instalation". I've tried connect AP to switch, and to port on controller, but nothing happened.

 

Could anyone help me to connect AP to the controller?

 

Best regards,

Mariusz

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,759
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

- Your network needs DHCP, otherwise the AP won't come up

- The controller needs a license installed, otherwise it will not come up.

- The AP124 requires external antennas, so until the antenna gain is provisioned in that AP in Configuration> Wireless > AP Installation, the AP will not broadcast.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-14-2016

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

Ad1) I've enable DHCP on the controller and set ip range for all my network excluding controller's address. Is it sufficient ?

 

Ad2) I have purchased licence with description "Policy Enforcement Firewall Module (16 AP Licence), but I don't install this licence, because I have only paper, and I don't know how to get this licence. Is it just this licence I have to install?

 

Ad3) I don't see AP under "AP Instalation", so I can't unblock the antena :-(

 

Mariusz

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,759
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

The licenses should have instructions on how to install them.  If they don't have instructions, go to https://licensing.arubanetworks.com to activate them.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller


mtopczewski wrote:

Ad1) I've enable DHCP on the controller and set ip range for all my network excluding controller's address. Is it sufficient ?

 

Ad2) I have purchased licence with description "Policy Enforcement Firewall Module (16 AP Licence), but I don't install this licence, because I have only paper, and I don't know how to get this licence. Is it just this licence I have to install?

 

Ad3) I don't see AP under "AP Instalation", so I can't unblock the antena :-(

 

Mariusz


Did you buy AP licenses, too?

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-14-2016

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

[ Edited ]

I didn't buy any other licenses. Do I need some ?

Update (current state):

Now I see access points in "AP Instalation" in "Provisioning" and "Campus AP Whitelist" tabs. I've tried to provision my AP, but it failed with error description about "invalid gain value". I'm using AP-ANT-16, with gain values 4.7 and 3.9. I found on forum, that WebUI doesn't accept value other then 0.5 step, so I change this values to 5.0 and 4.0 and I successfuly provision my AP.

BUT !!!: I still have the same APs on tab "AP Instalation -> Provisioning". They  have status "2IL". Why???

 

In tab "Network->Controller->Licences management" I have:

Access Points: 0

Remote Access Points: 0

Ortronics Access Points: 0

Outdoor Mesh Access points: 128

....

Indoor Mesh Access points: 128

....

Next Generation Policy Enforcement Firewall Module: 16

...

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,759
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

2IL = ipsec v2 (okay), inactive (not okay), No license for AP (not okay).

 

You need to purchase an AP license for 16 APs to match the Next Generation Policy Enforcement License.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-14-2016

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

If I create eval AP license now, can I purchase prenament license later and install it on my controller without reseting pernament PEFNG licenses which I have already installed?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,759
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Problem with connecting AP to the controller

Yes, you can.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: