Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

I'm having trouble authenticating VIA through our RADIUS server. I can authenticate VIA through the internal server without any issues. When I change the VIA Authentication Profile Server Group to my RADIUS server group authentication fails. Through DIagnostics, I can use AAA Test Server and authenticate to the RADIUS server without issue so I'm assuming the RADIUS server is setup correctly and that the issue must be in the setup for VIA. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thanks.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

Do you see anything in the log when the VIA client attempts authentication?  It sounds like your RADIUS policy may be blocking the attempt.

Community Manager
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

Folks,

 

Moving this discussion under VIA & CSS forum. 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎09-21-2010

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

[ Edited ]

Ensure that PAP authentication is enabled on your RADIUS server. For example PAP is disabled by default on windows server 2008. The controller uses PAP as the authentication type for RADIUS. If PAP is not supported then using an external RADIUS sever wont work for your VIA deployments.

 

Are you using MacOS clients or Windows client? The VIA configuration on the controller varies slightly for MacOS clients

Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

Thanks to Colin, an Aruba engineer, for emailing me and going through troubleshooting and ultimately fixing the issue. All was well with the RADIUS server. Problem turned out to be the controller was configured to reference the default VIA authentication profile which I had not configured since I created a my own authentication profile to use. It's almost always the little things! Thanks again to Colin for taking the time to help. Another reason to love Aruba...great products and amazing support.
Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

We have both Mac and Windows users. After the fix, all works properly on Windows and Mac IOS. Haven't tried on MacOS yet. Wasn't sure if there was a client for MacOS. Mind sharing the different settings for Mac OS?
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,811
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

[ Edited ]

The main difference with MAC OS, is that you need to allow more ports incoming on your firewall.  The protocol list for macOS is:

 

 UDP— 500, 1701, and 4500

 TCP—1723, 443
 IP protocol— 50 

 

The MAC OSX Client is on the support site.

 

 

In addition, we launched an Ipad, iPhone client today, as well:  

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aruba-networks-via/id481378525?mt=8

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: Problems Authenticating VIA through a RADIUS Server

Thanks again for all your time and help.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: