Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Provision 135AP behind Juniper FW

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Provision 135AP behind Juniper FW

Posted Jun 08, 2012 02:42 PM

Ok, here is my scenario.

I guess you can say I am fairly new with Aruba and its abilities, but I am stuck at an impass here. I have a 135AP at one of our remote locations. It is behind a Juniper SSG5 firewall. Now from what I understand in my readings, NAT-T needs to be enabled on that firewall for the AP to be able to see the controller. (correct me if I am wrong)

This has been enabled in my policy but I am still unbale to see this AP from my main controller. I can also see where the Juniper device is issuing the AP a DHCP ip address so I know it is being recognized.

Like I said I am a novice at all of this, but is there a way I can allow the AP to see my controller so that I can provision it?

Thanks for any and all responses.........

• 2.  RE: Provision 135AP behind Juniper FW
    Best Answer

Posted Jun 08, 2012 02:48 PM

The AP will draw a DHCP address and the try to resolve "aruba-master" to contact the controller (assuming you are talking about a standard Campus AP (CAP)).  You could also send DHCP option 43 & 60 from the Juniper FW to the AP.  That would cause the AP to look for the controller at the IP address specified by option 43.   Option 60 should be "aruba-ap".  Another way to "fix" this is to hard set the controllers IP address from the console of the AP (using a setenv command).

If this AP has already been provisioned as a Remote AP (RAP), you should see it on the controller.  NAT-T is all that is needed.

• 3.  RE: Provision 135AP behind Juniper FW

Posted Jun 08, 2012 04:42 PM

Olino.... thank you very much for your response.