Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller.

Hi, we have some RAP-2WG’s in our network. When we needed a new home-office, I put in a new RAP-2WG and tried to provision it. The RAP showed up with the IL flag. I was able to provision the AP, but it was still showing up with the IL flag and do not work. The controller are running 6.3.0.1.

As a test I reset my own RAP2 that was working. After the reset, it got the same problem.

I found an article about upgrading the backup-partition on the RAP (http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Command-of-the-Day/COTD-apflash-backup-partition-or-how-do-I-upgrade-my-RAP5/td-p/5829), but that did not help either.

 

Anyone knowing what to do? I would verry mutch have them up and running ;-)

 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

Do you have available licenses on the controller? Do "show ap license-usage". What is the "Overall AP license limit"? Do you have that many APs listed in the "Total APs" count?
Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

 

Yes there should be enough licenses.


AP Licenses
-----------
Type                      Number
----                      ------
AP Licenses               16
RF Protect Licenses       16
PEF Licenses              16
Overall AP License Limit  16

AP Usage
--------
Type             Count
----             -----
Active CAPs      5
Standby CAPs     0
RAPs             3
Remote-node APs  0
Tunneled nodes   0
Total APs        8

Remaining AP Capacity
---------------------
Type  Number
----  ------
CAPs  8
RAPs  8

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

Is there any errors listed that would affect that AP group when you do "show profile-errors"?
MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

 

If you haven't done this , you may have to do the following :

 

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Command-of-the-Day/COTD-apflash-backup-partition-or-how-do-I-upgrade-my-RAP5/m-p/5829/highlight/true#M258

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

Hi, no errors I'm afride...

 

 #show profile-errors

Invalid Profiles
----------------
Profile  Error
-------  -----

 #
And yes I have tried to upgrade the image:

 

 #show ap image version ip-addr 192.168.0.189

AP Image Versions On Controller
-------------------------------
AOS-W version 6.3.0.1 for OAW-AP6x_7x (p4build@corsica.arubanetworks.com) (gcc version 3.4.3) #39170 Thu Jul 25 12:33:21 PDT 20
AOS-W version 6.3.0.1 for OAW-AP12x (p4build@corsica.arubanetworks.com) (gcc version 4.3.3) #39170 Thu Jul 25 12:43:13 PDT 2013
AOS-W version 6.3.0.1 for OAW-AP10x (p4build@corsica.arubanetworks.com) (gcc version 4.3.3) #39170 Thu Jul 25 13:20:41 PDT 2013

Access Points Image Version
---------------------------
AP             Running Image Version String                                                                                                     Flash (Production) Image Version String                                                                                          Flash (Provisioning/Backup) Image Version String                                                                 Matches  Num Matches  Num Mismatches  Bad Checksums  Bad Provisioning Checksums  Image Load Status
--             ----------------------------                                                                                                     ---------------------------------------                                                                                          ------------------------------------------------                                                                 -------  -----------  --------------  -------------  --------------------------  -----------------
192.168.0.189  AOS-W version 6.3.0.1 for OAW-AP6x_7x (p4build@corsica.arubanetworks.com) (gcc version 3.4.3) #39170 Thu Jul 25 12:33:21 PDT 20  AOS-W version 6.3.0.1 for OAW-AP6x_7x (p4build@corsica.arubanetworks.com) (gcc version 3.4.3) #39170 Thu Jul 25 12:33:21 PDT 20  AOS-W version 5.0.1.0 for OAW-AP6x_7x (p4build@cartman) (gcc version 3.4.3) #24398 Mon Jun 14 00:51:01 PDT 2010  Yes      1            0               0              0                           Done
 #

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

 

Did you do it from a controller on 5.x ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

 

No from 6.2.1.1. I have upgraded the controller in small steps from 5.0.x.x . Normally once every 3 to 6 month. We are selling this gear and we normally test the new SW versions on our own controller before we roll it out to the costumers.

Aruba
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-03-2011

Re: RAP-2WG comming up with IL flag on the controller

Two things, can you confirn the model of controller you are using? As well, is the RAP properly whitelisted and your VPN configuration complete to permit the inbound IPsec connection?

 

Please bear in mind that with the release of ArubaOS 6.2.x - there was a capacity change on the 620 Series controller, so if you are using it - would explain the 'inactive/unlicensed' IL flags.

 

<snip>

A6xx series – staring with AOS 6.2 the Remote AP  limits on the 6xx series will be the same as the Campus AP limits.

 

620 – 8 CAPs = 8 RAPs

650 – 16 CAPs = 16 RAPs

</snip>



| Adam Kennedy, Systems Engineer - adamk@hpe.com

| Service Providers – Aruba, an HPE Company

| Twitter: @adam8021x | Airheads: akennedy
Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: RAP-2WG coming up with IL flag on the controller

Hi, The RAP's are whitelisted OK. I tested a AP68 and set it up as a RAP. That's working OK. We have also RAP2WG's running that have not been reset and thus RAP's are working. The controller is a 650 with 8 internal AP licenses and 8 extra AP licenses + PEF RF-protection and VIA licenses. The total amount of AP's (CAP's + RAP's) is 9

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: