Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

Hi Guys,

 

I'm deploying the new RAP3-WNP which should have the Ethernet 2 Port POE capable. However, I've tried plugging in IP Phones into this Port and yet, I don't see it power up the Phone.

 

I have been told that the POE capability is on by default, but this doesn't seem to be the case.

 

Is there something that needs to be done to enable the POE functionality?

 

Regards,

 

Eric.

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,260
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones


eosuorah wrote:

Hi Guys,

 

I'm deploying the new RAP3-WNP which should have the Ethernet 2 Port POE capable. However, I've tried plugging in IP Phones into this Port and yet, I don't see it power up the Phone.

 

I have been told that the POE capability is on by default, but this doesn't seem to be the case.

 

Is there something that needs to be done to enable the POE functionality?

 

Regards,

 

Eric.

 


Is the phone you are trying to power up 803.af compliant?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

Yes it is.

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

These come up as an Instant AP first before we configure them into RAPs.

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

Okay. This is a concern for me now.

 

I just plugged another RAP3-WNP and I first had to go to the "Settings" configuration to enable the POE capability.

It was enabled at all!!

 

After doing that, I saved the configuration. The IP Phone still wouldn't come up.

I then rebooted the RAP3-WNP and that was when the POE Port then came up.

 

This is a concern now because, after we have a RAP3-WNP configured tp talk back to the Controller, how can we then re-enable the POE Port? Since, the only way we do this is when it's an Instant AP.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,260
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

When the RAP3WNP is in IAP or Instant mode, you need to enable it manually.  If you terminate the RAP3WNP on a controller as a RAP, the power should be automatically enabled.  Will you be using the RAP3WNP as a RAP or an IAP?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones


cjoseph wrote:

When the RAP3WNP is in IAP or Instant mode, you need to enable it manually.  If you terminate the RAP3WNP on a controller as a RAP, the power should be automatically enabled.  Will you be using the RAP3WNP as a RAP or an IAP?

 



I will be using it as a RAP.

 

And unfortunately, POE is not enabled.

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones


eosuorah wrote:

cjoseph wrote:

When the RAP3WNP is in IAP or Instant mode, you need to enable it manually.  If you terminate the RAP3WNP on a controller as a RAP, the power should be automatically enabled.  Will you be using the RAP3WNP as a RAP or an IAP?

 



I will be using it as a RAP.

 

And unfortunately, POE is not enabled.


 

I'm going to convert one of the RAP3WNP that I have POE enabled into a RAP and see if the POE capability stays up.

 

 

 

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎03-14-2012

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

It


eosuorah wrote:

eosuorah wrote:

cjoseph wrote:

When the RAP3WNP is in IAP or Instant mode, you need to enable it manually.  If you terminate the RAP3WNP on a controller as a RAP, the power should be automatically enabled.  Will you be using the RAP3WNP as a RAP or an IAP?

 



I will be using it as a RAP.

 

And unfortunately, POE is not enabled.


 

I'm going to convert one of the RAP3WNP that I have POE enabled into a RAP and see if the POE capability stays up.

 

 

 


Okay. So it didn't come up. But we just found out that under the Group Profile we created for the RAPs, we needed to also enable POE under the Ethernet 2 Port Profile. So, it seems we were mis-informed as regards to the POE configuration/capability on the RAP3WNP.

 

Will keep you posted once we have everything working with the IP Phone.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,260
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP3-WNP POE not powering up IP Phones

Sorry.  yes it needs to be enabled there, too.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: