Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

RAP5 4G UML290

I have a working RAP that I'm trying to go from dsl wired connection to a verizon 4G UML290VW-G wireless modem.

 

When I go to RAP provisioning screen and select USB tab the UML290 isn't listed.  I've tried using the UM175 / UM150 (Verizon) that is listed but it's still not working.

 

The RAP is on ArubaOS Verison 5.0.4.0 Build #29678 and the 3600 Controller is on 6.1.2.6 software.

 

 

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

Not sure it makes a difference but the RAP i'm using is a RAP5WN

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

That modem has not been added to the Zero touch provisioning screen of the RAP5.  You can only provision it from the controller using ArubaOS 6.3.0 or higher.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

Once I get the controller to the 6.1.3.1 software how do I go about provisioning it via the controller?  Is that in the 6.1 manual somewhere?

 

Thanks for the quick reply.  YOU ROCK !!!

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

[ Edited ]

First. use the Verizon VZaccess Manager on a Windows laptop to make sure the firmware on the Pantech is the newest.  Next, provision the RAP so that terminates on the controller.  When it does, provision the AP from the controller with the following options:

 

pantech.png



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

That worked great.

 

Thanks again !!!

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2010

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

I've got a UML290 too.  But I've never configured a RAP5 to use a usb device.  TAC sent me a document on how to configure a 3g device and it looks like they require a device identifier and a device type.  I can't find anything about whether the 290 needs it or not.  Do you guys have any info?

Thanks in advance

 

Jimmy 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

You cannot Zero Touch configure a UML290.  You need it to connect to the controller wired, and then reprovision it with the instructions above.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2010

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

Thanks for the quick response!  So I only need to modify the three boxes you highlighted in red?  I'll try that and get back with you.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP5 4G UML290

Yes.  Make sure they have those values.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: