Wireless Access

last person joined: 11 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

RAPs, NATs and LMS Settings

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  RAPs, NATs and LMS Settings

Posted Feb 07, 2018 04:12 AM

OK so I know this has been discussed before on here but reading each post I have more questions so created a new thread.

Firstly, I have a master-standby solution using VRRP, where campus APs failover to the second controller but RAPs cannot (due to having a NAT on the firewall which points to the VRRP address).   My question is without giving a public IP to each controller is there no work around for this? We do not want to have the controller on an interface on our firewall to the internet for security reasons.

Secondly, the LMS settings under AP Configuration>AP Groups> AP system: Do we need to set these for RAPs? If we do set this for a RAP will the RAP then go down as it cannot directly hit the local address of the controller as it is using a NAT currently to get back to the firewall and then the controller?  Is it best to leave these settings blank for the current setup I have?

Thanks

• 2.  RE: RAPs, NATs and LMS Settings

Posted Feb 08, 2018 12:05 AM

if you already have the inbound port nat on the firewall from the public IP x.x.x.x to the VRRP IP for udp/4500, then in the ap system profile, put the public ip x.x.x.x in the lms-ip field, leave the backup lms field empty.

• 3.  RE: RAPs, NATs and LMS Settings

Posted Feb 08, 2018 03:14 AM

HI

I currently have the public IP nat'd to the IP of the VRRP - however not sure that it is allowed over port 4500 UDP.  It currently works before failover it is just once it fails over to the second controller the RAPS don't move over.  Why would I need port 4500 UDP opened what is it that uses this protocol is it the LMS?