Wireless Access

last person joined: 18 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Raps with DMZ controller

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Raps with DMZ controller

Posted Nov 20, 2014 01:15 AM
    Hi forum,

I am having a bit odd a mental block

I have a master controller with some tunnels to a DMZ controller. I want to terminate raps on the DMZ controller.

Anyone point me in the right direction for this kind of implementation?

Never been able to deploy raps I am missing something fundamental

Thanks

• 2.  RE: Raps with DMZ controller

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 23, 2014 04:26 AM

That is a major design question.  We will need tons of more information about your infrastructure.  If you have never setup a RAP controller, you might want to do that independently to understand all the parts involved, before terminating it on a DMZ controller....

• 3.  RE: Raps with DMZ controller

Posted Nov 24, 2014 06:10 PM

OK - I have got a aruba 620 for lab and using a AP-105 as a RAP

I just want to start basic then layer on extra features later.

Note: I have not done this before!

I got 2 vlans, both trusted.  an inside and and outside if you like.

I run the wizard for RAP and provision, and I browse into the RAP and it shows disconnected from the controller

I check datapath tables, I see some udp/4500 traffic, not much.

I see via the console plugged into the 105 - I know it sees the master ip configured right - and the IP address the AP gets is on the same subnet.

The AP never comes up, I even disable control plane security to let any AP register?!

Dont know how to debug this!

Stumped, completely.   I can only guess I am missing a massive fundamental thing here.  Any suggestions welcome!   

• 4.  RE: Raps with DMZ controller

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 24, 2014 08:33 PM

Nik,

Did you:

- Create an IPSEC pool?