Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Redundancy Question

Hello i got a question about redundancy

 

Okay i got one client which has one 650 controller

 

He wants to buy another one because they need to expand  they are buying more APS

 

We were thinking in puttting master local in both of them.


But then i mentioned him that you could do redundancy with them, and he got interested in this  as even if there arent thousands of APS or users  its really important for them having it always up .

 

Guess we could sell it  2 3200 but then the 650 will be useless

 

It is possible to do something like this?

 

one 3200

and 2 650s

if the 3200 dies then the aps goes to both 650 or viceversa?

 

Or what could be the best solution for him?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Redundancy Question

More detail would be required to give an accurate suggestion. However, the technology is there for you to slice this many ways. Using vrrp (if all controllers are on same layer 2 segment) or using the backup LMS option, you could have APs that primarily aggregate to the 3200 to fail to the 650, or vice versa. But as for a recommendation, you would need to share some more requirements as well as details on the customer's network.
==========
Ryan Holland, ACDX #1 ACMX #1
The Ohio State University
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Redundancy Question

[ Edited ]

Like what info you would need?

 

So basically its possible to have  the APS pointing to the 3200 and then if this one fails the APS will fail over to a single 650

 

My question was regarding having 2 650s.

 

I mean

having all aps pointing to  one 3200 and then if  he fail then all the aps distribute between both 2 650s

If using backup LMS i guess i could have 2 ap groups  1 pointing to one 650 and the ohter pointing to the other 650

I need to review my notes about redundancy buti got my notes in the office....

But basically i just want to know if its possible to do that.   Ill try doing it in a lab and everything :)

 

Forgot telling

Thanks for the reply!

 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Aruba Employee
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Re: Redundancy Question

Hi, 

 

we need some additional details like how many APs in the entire deployment ?

all the controllers in same location or in same Lan segment ? 

 

Instead of using one controller to terminate all the APs and have other as standby, you can load balance the APs across the controllers and if any one goes down the others should be able to take over. 

 

I would recommand VRRP, if you have the controllers in the same VLAN. if they are in different VLANs, Please use LMS and Bkp-lms for redundancy.

Vinod Kumaar AVM ACMX, ACDX
Principal Network Engineer
Customer Advocacy | Aruba Networks Inc.

Did something you read in the Community solve a problem for you? If so, click "Accept as Solution" in the bottom right hand corner of the post.
MVP
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Redundancy Question

What info?...I'd like to know how many APs are to be distributed across the controllers. Also, can all controllers be on the same subnet/vlan? If so, I agree with Vinod: use vrrp. As for tr config, use two ap-groups each with a different system profile. In the system profile1, specify the lms-ip to equal a vrrp address between the controllers where controller1 is primary. Create another system profile with the opposite. Then evenly distribute your APs across the groups.

That's just one way to do it. You can do the same approach using backup lms instead of vrrp.
==========
Ryan Holland, ACDX #1 ACMX #1
The Ohio State University
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Redundancy Question

something around 25 APs

Both WC will be in the same VLAN

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Redundancy Question

Definitely recommend vrrp then.

With 25aps, they can't all fit on a 650. So you'll need something bigger. Since they're growing, you could discuss with them two 3200s and implementing a redundant architecture. If Aruba won't offer a discount/trade-in for the existing 650, they can always use it as a dev/test controller.
==========
Ryan Holland, ACDX #1 ACMX #1
The Ohio State University
MVP
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Redundancy Question

They= your customer, not Aruba.
==========
Ryan Holland, ACDX #1 ACMX #1
The Ohio State University
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Redundancy Question

well yeah im aware they dont fit on the 650.  Thats why i was asking about

one 3200  and 2 650s

 

He already got 1 650 which bough like a few months ago...

Now i told him about the redundancy he seems he wants it.

 

The thing is that as he just bough the 650 i didnt want him to then buy 2 3200s maybe he wont like that

 

So thats why i was asking if having  all aps maybe pointing for example to the 650s and if one of the 650 fails they will point then to the 3200 if both 650 fails then the 3200 can handle everything.

 

Now yeah i think the best could be if he bough  2 3200s and maybe getting a good discount for the 650 but if he doesnt like that idea iwould like to have something else we could work with.

 

 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Aruba Employee
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Re: Redundancy Question

Hi Carlos, 

 

I agree with you. 2* 3200 will fit them perfectly. With 2* 650 controllers, the max they can reach is 32 APs (without redundancy)and currently they have 25 APs. 

 

1* 3200 + 2* 650 with N+1 redundancy, you can go Max of 16+ (2*8) = 32 APs 

 

2*3200 using VRRP or Lms & BKP-lms redundancy we can use 16+16= 32 APs. 

 

Vinod Kumaar AVM ACMX, ACDX
Principal Network Engineer
Customer Advocacy | Aruba Networks Inc.

Did something you read in the Community solve a problem for you? If so, click "Accept as Solution" in the bottom right hand corner of the post.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: