Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Reloading a hung m3 controller in a 6000 chassis

I was curious if there is a way to reload a controller not responding to web/ http/ console when in a 6000 chassis without me physically going there and pulling the card out and back in?

 

Ideally it would be from another working controller in the chassis.

 

I saw a command similar once "reboot peer-supervisor" or something similar but saw that was depreciated a while back. 

 

Thanks!

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Reloading a hung m3 controller in a 6000 chassis

No...you need to either cut power or physically remove or via local console.  The 6000 chassis is power delivery only.

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎10-09-2009

Re: Reloading a hung m3 controller in a 6000 chassis

You can maybe do this for the future. We setup a small PC with a console cable to the controller or if no controller then the main switch in the closet. So you RDP to the PC and use HyperTerminal or whatever terminal program then console in.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,338
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Reloading a hung m3 controller in a 6000 chassis

Raspberry Pi's are great for this. We have some set up around campus.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎10-09-2009

Re: Reloading a hung m3 controller in a 6000 chassis

We used some Wyse thin clients.

Contributor I
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: Reloading a hung m3 controller in a 6000 chassis

Thanks for the responses guys,

 

I have console access to all controllers using OpenGear's IMX4216 for console access.

 

Issue was, for the past couple weeks we've been dealing with the bug just fixed in yesterdays 6.3.0.2 release... we were rebooting a production m3 controller almost once a day.  But when they locked up - they were inaccessible via ssh/ http/ or console.  So none of that would have helped.  Couldn't kill power to chassis because the other controller was handling the failed over AP's.  Soooo SOL until I show up and pulled the card out.

 

Thanks again though, especially clever use of the raspberry pi!

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: