Wireless Access

last person joined: 10 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all
This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  Remote AP

Posted Dec 11, 2013 06:01 PM

Hello,

I have my HQ office with a Master Controller 3600 and a remote site connected with an MPLS line and a local controller 650, now I added another remote office through another MPLS line but it doesn't have local controller, I connected de AP over the remote office and using Discovery provisioned the AP to my master but I don't know if that's the proper way to do it because I see that all the local traffic in that office such as network printing or local file sharing is now becoming WAN traffic since all the data travels to the master controller and then back, is there any way avoid this? maybe the way there's another way to configure the AP?

I'll appreciate any help, kind of new at this

• 2.  RE: Remote AP

Posted Dec 11, 2013 06:17 PM

You could configure that AP as a RAP with split tunneling so all the traffic that is local stays local

http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_63_Web_Help/Content/ArubaFrameStyles/Remote_AP/Split_Tunneling.htm

What type of AP are you using ?

• 3.  RE: Remote AP

Posted Dec 11, 2013 06:23 PM
    AP 105

• 4.  RE: Remote AP
    Best Answer

Posted Dec 11, 2013 06:27 PM

You can convert the AP-105 into a RAP by stopping the boot process and then typing the following command:

>remote_ap=1

>save

>boot

Then added into the RAP whitelist and after you have created the AP-Group for the Remote AP

• 5.  RE: Remote AP

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 12, 2013 04:13 PM

without the =  and you need setenv

>setenv remote_ap 1

>save

>boot

• 6.  RE: Remote AP

Posted Dec 12, 2013 06:49 PM

Thanks Mike.

• 7.  RE: Remote AP

Posted Dec 11, 2014 10:33 AM