Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

SNMP on AP-105

Spiceworks was recently installed to run inventory scans on our network.  When it scans our AP-105 access points it gives an error stating "No open ports for this device were found to be responding".

 

I've got the scan attempting to connect to the AP's via SNMP.  I setup a Read Community String on the controller and set the scan to use that string for the controller and all the AP's.  All the information from the controller is read correctly, but the AP's give the error above.

 

Is there any other setting in the AP configuration that I need to change?  The only mention of SNMP I could find was in the AP System Profile (SNMP sysContact) and on the AP Provisioning Page (SNMP System Location).  I've played around with those, but saw no change.

 

Could the AP's be scanned using any other protocol?  SSH, Telnet, etc?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: SNMP on AP-105

The APs do not have SNMP exposed.  You have to get all the information through the controller.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Re: SNMP on AP-105


cjoseph wrote:

The APs do not have SNMP exposed.  You have to get all the information through the controller.


 

What do I need to configure on the controller to relay the information about the AP's?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: SNMP on AP-105

Just an snmp read string.  Configuration> Management SNMP.  If Spiceworks is not reading the correct SNMP Mibs for Aruba, however, you might not get anything useful.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Re: SNMP on AP-105

What MIBs are those?  I'm working with someone from Spiceworks and I'll let them know what they should be using.  Thanks.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: SNMP on AP-105

http://support.arubanetworks.com/DOCUMENTATION/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Command/Core_Download/Default.aspx?EntryId=5719



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: