Wireless Access

last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

SSIDs, Vlans, leases... Best practices?

This thread has been viewed 12 times
  • 1.  SSIDs, Vlans, leases... Best practices?

Posted Nov 07, 2012 04:29 AM

Recently started a new job and have inherited an existing Aruba wlan (running v3x code).  Im new to Aruba and wifi in general, so its a steep learning curve, and inevitably quite easy to get things wrong.  So, Im after a bit of guidance!

We broadcast approx 8 ssids (which I cant help think is way too many, and should be about half that at most).  For arguments sake, there are also 8 /24 networks, leases for which are serviced by an external dhcp server.  Some of the ssids have multiple vlans assigned to them, and we are now running out of available leases for some.  Many of these lease pools are shared between multiple ssids.

In the case of one ssid, it has 2 vlans assigned to it, however, these vlans are also used by other ssids.  I could move some of these lesser used ssids onto other vlans so that the primary campus ssid has more available addresses, or simply add a third vlan.  I dont know how aruba load balances between these vlans, but as it obviously doesnt talk directly to the dhcp server,  it wont know how many active clients a lease pool has.  Consequently, one lease pool is exhausted, whilst the other is at 60% capacity.

What are the best practices where the following is concerned:

Max amount of SSID being broadcast

Network size associated with each ssid (large subnet, or many smaller?)

Would aruba better manage the leases and load balances more efficiently rather than external dhcp server?

Any assistance would be appreciated!

Thanks

• 2.  RE: SSIDs, Vlans, leases... Best practices?
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 07, 2012 04:45 AM

@Sk3l3tor wrote: