Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-26-2014

Setting bandwitdh per user

Hi,

 

I would like to set a bandwitdh limit for exceeded amount of wireless using. There are many users on campus network so I need to use a trigger or script to add an aruba firewall rule on controller to make decrease of the bandwitdh per user/device.

 

Have an idea to set a firewall rule remotely?

 

thanks,

Aruba
Posts: 1,290
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: Setting bandwitdh per user

 You can set a per-user bandwidth limit in the user-role.

 

bandwidth.jpg

 

However, if you want the user to be placed into a restricted role once they hit a given amount of MB, you'll need to have radius accounting enabled and use something like Clearpass to track the usage and then send back a radius CoA to put the user into the restricted role.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-26-2014

Re: Setting bandwitdh per user

Hi,

 

Thanks for your information. To make clear, what should I do overcome on freeradius and what should I send parameter to the controller? Have any guide on the issue?

 

Regards,

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,280
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Setting bandwitdh per user

umutarus,

 

You need to configure FreeRadius to send back the radius aruba-user-role attribute with the role of the user that you applied to bandwidth contract to.  The Aruba VSA attributes should come with freeradius.  You just need to send back the Aruba-User-Role attribute with the name of the role on the Aruba Controller with the bandwidth contract.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-26-2014

Re: Setting bandwitdh per user

I got it, I will try. thanks everyone.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-18-2011

Re: Setting bandwitdh per user

Good to know, thanks!

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-18-2011

Re: Setting bandwitdh per user

Duplicate post, sorry.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: