Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Site-to-site VPN connected, but not stable (Packet Loss)

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Site-to-site VPN connected, but not stable (Packet Loss)

Posted Jun 27, 2012 10:34 AM

Good Morning Community!

My apologies in advance, I am rather new to Aruba products, as well as more advanced networking in general.

I am having an issue with a site-to-site VPN that I just cannot figure out.

We have two sites, one using a 650 controller, and one using a 620 controller.  The VPN between the sites is connecting, but we are experiencing a lot of delay/loss with connections between the sites.

If I run a ping from our linux server on one end to the controller on the other end of the VPN (pinging the local address of the controller), I am noticing that I consistantly get gaps in the icmp sequence of about 20 packets or so, and the ping will then continue from there.  This will occur roughly every 30 packets, so we end up with ~40% packet loss.  It does not matter which direction I go, and if I run a ping in both directions at the same time, both freeze at the same time.

During these gaps in ping, all traffic across the site-to-site tunnel freezes as well.  Essentially, we run an ssh connection across the tunnel to our application.  During these gaps, the application will freeze as well.  When the ping resumes, the application resumes as well, and does "catch up", processing the keystrokes made by the user.

We do have a few other paired sites running a similar configuration (with the exception that these other sites are running 620 controllers on both ends... we had to install a 650 in the one site because of the number of AP's they have), and I have compared the VPN settings, and as far as I can tell, they are configured the same.