Wireless Access

last person joined: 16 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

So how screwed am I?

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  So how screwed am I?

Posted May 23, 2016 02:47 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Aruba and had been looking to upgrade the AP for my home use (I'm a bit of a wifi nut) and I've used/deployed Ruckus, Xirrus, and Ubiquity in the past. I'd done what I thought was a decent amount of research but it seems I may have screwed myself. I am the owner of a new AP-325.

Not a IAP-325.

It would appear if I want to use this hardware I will *have* to have a controller and cant take advantage of the Aruba Instant capability? If so this is sort of upsetting because I never saw any disclaimers on the Aruba Instant marketing to indicate that this was only available on specific SKU's. Why is this the case if so? Ruckus doesn't restrict their standalone mode or their Unleashed capability by SKU like this. Xirrus inherently doesn't have this issue due to their particular approach to architecture.

What can I do here? Help!

• 2.  RE: So how screwed am I?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 23, 2016 03:01 PM
    You would either need to return the AP and swap it for an IAP version or
    acquire a controller.

Aruba offers the most flexibility on the market.

• 3.  RE: So how screwed am I?

Posted May 23, 2016 03:02 PM

Seeing as how this was purchased via ebay that option doesnt sound like its available for me.

• 4.  RE: So how screwed am I?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 23, 2016 03:27 PM