Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-16-2014

Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

Hi All,

 

Im having issue during migration. Details as below :

 

1) Migrate from controller 3400(6.1.3.6 firmware) to 7210(6.4.4.0 firmware).

2) Use back all the same configuration to new controller by manually config.

3) All AP(AP93 and AP105) in current setup using RAP mode and end user manually insert the IP details using console. They dont want to purge all the AP setting as required more downtime and will impact their operation. Thats the reason we use back the old setting and deployment method.

4) During the migration, only 158 APs UP instead of 228 APs. The VPN pool is enough and all the AP MAC address whitelisted.

5) Rolled back to old controller, all the APs was UP.

 

Any idea on this?

 

Thanks.

Aruba
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

Did you upgrade the 3400 to 6.4.4 first and then port the config over?


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-16-2014

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

Hi Michael,

 

No im not doing that. Means need to upgrade 3400 to 6.4.4 first and then backup the config and then  it restore to 7210 controller?

Aruba
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

You should only restore a flashbackup to another controller on an identical version of code.  There are significant differences between 6.1 and 6.4 which might be the cause of your problems.

 

 


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-16-2014

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

Hi Michael,

In my previous setup im not restore back the flashbackup from 3400 to 7210. I manually configure 7210 exactly the same config in 3400. Is it related? Do i need to upgrade 3400 to 6.4.4, backup the flashbackup and restore it to 7210?Do this method will solve my issue?
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

amirmuskatim,

 

6.4.4.0 is a big jump from 6.1.x.x.  It is also very new and the first edition of a major release.  You should probably try to migrate in stages to 6.3.x first.  Is there anything that you specifically need in 6.4.4.0?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-16-2014

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

Hi Colin,

 

Means I need to downgrade back my 7210 to 6.3.x  version?there nothing need in 6.4.4 but end user request to have latest firmware. What is the best practice for this migration based on my current situation now?

1) Downgrade 7210 to 6.3.x  and retain the current config in that box.

2) Upgrade 3400 to 6.3.x and backup the flashbackup. After that restore that backup to 7210 box with 6.3.x version.

 

Thanks

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

If you are on 6.4.0.0 right now, please open a TAC case so that they can troubleshoot if downgrading is not an option.  You can type "show log system 50" to get an idea about possibly why access points are not coming up.

 

Your upgrade involves:

- Copying and pasting a config

- Changing hardware

- A migration to 3 major releases newer

 

Any of these steps by themselves could cause an issue.  Doing all three at the same time probably means you need more specific help than you could get on this forum, so please open a TAC case ASAP so that they can troubleshoot and give you some direction.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-16-2014

Re: Some AP in RAP mode Down during Migration

Hi Colin,

 

Thanks for the advise.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: