Wireless Access

Reply
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Spanning-tree setting

I am testing a setup with 2 controllers having redundant links to 2 switches. Both switches are connected to each other. Everything seems fine with the required switchports/VLANs blocking. I have tried the setup with spanning-tree disabled on the controllers and rapid-pvst enabled on the controllers - no difference which seems good. What is the recommendation from Aruba on whether it should be enabled or disabled?. Also with rapid-pvst enabled there is no output from the "show spanning-tree" command but the is when the normal mode is running - why is this?

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

[ Edited ]

 

Based on my experienced I usually disabled STP on the controller and let it handle it by the uplink.

 

Now how do you have STP configured ? which of those switches is the STP root ? 

 

 

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Aruba
Posts: 1,377
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

I ususally disable STP initially.  

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

The L2 redundancy is simply duplicated links across two switches in case one switch fails so there is still a path to the DG, rest of the network etc. One of the switches will be the root bridge - switch 1. I just wanted to gauge if there was anything else to take into consideration. when the default STP was enabled, it was reporting it was the root although so did the root switch which concerned me. After enabling rapid-pvst I got no output from the controller on the state of spanning-tree. Disabled spanning-tree on the controller and the switchports did not change so I assume this is the way to go - switches running STP and controllers disabled.

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

 

Are you using VRRP or HSRP ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

Neither in this context, VRRP is running on controllers for AP termination, but the switches are simply operating at L2.

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

[ Edited ]

 

 

If the switches are connected to each other and you have the controller going to both switches that will create a loop and STP will block one of those connections to avoid the loop .

 

You can have control of what connection gets blocked by defining the priority each has and also which switch is the root .

 

If you created the VLANs on both switches you should create a L3 redundancy and then define which switch will be Active / Standy, this only applies if your switches are not virtualize .

 

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

I'm not sure what you mean by "a layer 2 redundancy".

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

VRRP and HSRP 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: Spanning-tree setting

VRRP and HSRP provide redundancy for IP addresses which are layer 3.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: