Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Static IP Address

When we assign a static IP address to thin clients the controller doesn't list the IP address and the thin client fails to authenticate but you can see the MAC address listed in the dashboard. However if we set the thin clients to use DHCP (Windows) everything works perfectly. Any idea as to what might be going on here? 

 

650 running 6.2.1.9

 

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Static IP Address

Do you have "enforce dhcp" enabled on the AAA profile in use?

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Static IP Address

Enforce DHCP is unchecked

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Static IP Address

Some additional information:

 

The static addresses being used are in a different subnet then the controller and I just noticed that the default gateway for the subnet being used is not listed on the controller. Is it necessary to have the subnet default gateway listed for a client to authenticate? 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,543
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Static IP Address

What is the output of:

 

show ip access-list validuser

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,774
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Static IP Address

You'll need to make sure the user is placed into the same VLAN/subnet as the
static address. Static IPs and wireless do not work well together.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Static IP Address

ip access-list session validuser
validuser
---------
Priority  Source                   Destination  Service  Action  TimeRange  Log  Expired  Queue  TOS  8021P  Blacklist  Mirror  DisScan  ClassifyMedia  IPv4/6
--------  ------                   -----------  -------  ------  ---------  ---  -------  -----  ---  -----  ---------  ------  -------  -------------  ------
1         169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0  any          any      deny                             Low                                                           4
2         any                      any          any      permit                           Low                                                           4
3         fe80::                   any          any      deny                             Low                                                           6
4         any                      any          any      permit                           Low                                                           6

 

 

This is a remote location that is currently closed so not many connections at the moment.

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Static IP Address

There is only one VLAN configured at this location. They are using a multinet configuration to access both subnets. One subnet is for production users and the other is used for machines (manufacturing).  

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Static IP Address

After doing additional testing it doesn't make any difference what subnet is used (192.168.1.x or 192.168.2.x in this case)  if a static IP address is used the device does not seem to authenticate.

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Static IP Address

It appears that a Windows based machine (laptop in this case) is able to connect successfully using a static address. The 'thin client' devices are the only devices with this issue.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: