Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Tacacs source address

Is there any method to configure the source address of Tacacs packets generated on our controller ( OS 6.1.1.0 ) Ideally we would like to use the loopback address.

 

Many Thanks

 

Mike

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,465
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Tacacs source address

[ Edited ]

There is currently no way to configure the TACACS source interface.

 

It tends to use the VLAN interface that is in the same subnet as the loopback address.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Tacacs source address

Many thanks for the reply much appreciated - our testing tends to confirm your statement and the Tacacs source address seems to be the the egress SVM and not the loopback.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,465
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Tacacs source address

Please submit a feature request on the idea portal if you'd like to see this feature.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Super Contributor II
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: Tacacs source address

What would the controller use if no loopback address is configured? the "controller-ip" configured address?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,465
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Tacacs source address

I'm not 100% on this but we've seen it use the lowest IP address of any interface.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Tacacs source address

I have added a new post to the Idea Portal requesting the ability to configure the source address use to craft Tacacs packets on the controller - once again thanks for all the replies regarding this! 

 

Regards

 

Mike

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: