Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Testing 5 APs by nailing channels - 4 accept assignment, one refuses

We're testing a work-around for a problem area of one of our warehouses, where ARM seems to be caught in a loop and slowly winds up setting 5 or 6 adjacent APs to the same channel.

 

The test is creating a new g-radio profile with just one channel specified for each channel (1,6,11) and then assigning that profile in AP-specific configuration to the APs we're trying to "fix"

 

4 of them have changed to the new channel and are apparently fine, one is ignoring instruction to move to 11 and is set to 1.

We've re-provisioned and just rebooted the AP and still it ignores the instruction.

 

What am I missing?

Is there a better way?

 

Here's the setting we've made:

Screenshot - 12102013 - 05:10:03 PM.png

 

 

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Testing 5 APs by nailing channels - 4 accept assignment, one refuses

Have you tried doing it in the regulatory domain by unchecking all the channels but channel 11?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Testing 5 APs by nailing channels - 4 accept assignment, one refuses

Not yet, found two different prior posts with this method and the reg-domain method so I tried this one first.

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,985
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Testing 5 APs by nailing channels - 4 accept assignment, one refuses


msabin wrote:

We're testing a work-around for a problem area of one of our warehouses, where ARM seems to be caught in a loop and slowly winds up setting 5 or 6 adjacent APs to the same channel.

 

The test is creating a new g-radio profile with just one channel specified for each channel (1,6,11) and then assigning that profile in AP-specific configuration to the APs we're trying to "fix"

 

4 of them have changed to the new channel and are apparently fine, one is ignoring instruction to move to 11 and is set to 1.

We've re-provisioned and just rebooted the AP and still it ignores the instruction.

 

What am I missing?

Is there a better way?

 

Here's the setting we've made:

Screenshot - 12102013 - 05:10:03 PM.png

 

 


The G-radio profile in your screenshot above ONLY determines what channel access points will be on if ARM is disabled.  if ARM is enabled, that setting is not used, EXCEPT for new access points that come up.  After that, the allowed channels are chosen from the regulatory domain profile in the AP system profile.  Like Vfabien said below, only have the regulatory domain profile for your allowed channels, because the screenshot above is only for when ARM is disabled.

 

As for why ARM is setting access points to a particular channel, the show ap arm rf-summary ap-name <name of ap> command says how it sees the channels around it and why it is on the particular channel.  ARM does not automatically set an access point next to another on a different channel; there are parameters used to determine what channel it will choose.  Sometimes the two other channels are so unusable that it places access points on the same channel.  Those parameters are in the ARM supplement guide here:

 

 http://community.arubanetworks.com/aruba/attachments/aruba/70/1204/1/ARM+Doc+Supplement.pdf



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: