Wireless Access

Contributor I

Tracking Authenticated Changes

[ Edited ]

I am an underqualified manager of a small charter school network. I have been able to get our Dell Branded Aruba w-620 up and functioning using radius authentication thanks to the help I have received from this forum. 

Things have been working great, but today I came in and one of our broadcasting WLANs was completely gone. 

I have two WLANs setup, one using radius authentication for teachers/byod, and one with a WPA2 PSK for the mobile labs and other devices that I need to pre-configure en-masse. 

The PSK network wasn't broadcasting, so I power cycled the controller, and it still didnt show up, but the Radius Network was there.

I logged into my controller, and there was no sign of a second WLAN.

We are not hack proof, and there are a lot of areas that our security could be improved, but I am just not sure if this was a tech-savvy student with a PS2 keylogger that got bored and deleted one of my WLANs or if the Aruba Controller can just forget something like this... 

Is there a log that I can call on to view authenticated changes? something that would show that someone actually hit the delete key?

Any Ideas?

much thanks

Guru Elite

Re: Tracking Authenticated Changes

The "show audit-trail" command will show you who made changes, BUT it does not survive a reboot...

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I

**bleep**. that thought crossed my mind after I had pulled the plug....

Thanks for the reply.

Its obvious that these controllers are designed not to bug-out in this manner, but has it ever been reported that a controller will just drop the configuration of one of its WLANs? Have you ever heard of that happening?

Guru Elite

Possible, yes.  Likely?  No.  I have never seen it...

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering