Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Transparent Proxy

My client uses a transparent proxy and I have set up a policy that d-nat all port 80 traffic to the ip address and port of their proxy. I then applied that policy to the user role.  All set right... done it many times in the past and it works no problem.

 

Well on this particular site I am getting an error. It looks like the traffic is making it to the proxy but the proxy isn't liking it.

 

See below for error that shows up in browser...

 

ERROR The requested URL could not be retrieved

While trying to process the request:

GET / HTTP/1.1
Accept: text/html, application/xhtml+xml, */*
Accept-Language: en-US
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET4.0C)
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
Host: www.google.com
Connection: Keep-Alive
Cookie: PREF=ID=436609aff5913fca:U=a71425215a1274cf:FF=0:TM=1327086821:LM=1327092119:S=x8sxsFdvdShEWBcs; NID=55=LMQQW0vgO_ERwtoSI9ud1bvUrjw7HMfKpnd5jvm9VNFULLKOzONqTBXKfXnUikscgTmRQjNWb5oOFFLJLzlXjC1S9nAbWIc2v_L57CIAVLlZB3Zplxr795776clxkzDq


The following error was encountered:

  • Invalid Request

Some aspect of the HTTP Request is invalid. Possible problems:

  • Missing or unknown request method
  • Missing URL
  • Missing HTTP Identifier (HTTP/1.0)
  • Request is too large
  • Content-Length missing for POST or PUT requests
  • Illegal character in hostname; underscores are not allowed

Your cache administrator is MIS.


Generated Mon, 23 Jan 2012 14:01:12 GMT by proxy (squid/2.6.STABLE20)  
 
 
Have any of you ran into this before? Is there something we need to set in the customers proxy to allow this traffic?  
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: Transparent Proxy

Actualy the client is using a regular proxy and is not set up for transparent.

 

I havn't tried it yet but I bet if we set his box up to do transparent proxy then it might work. Any ideas if it's possible to do the proxy settings in the aruba without his proxy being transparent?

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,289
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Transparent Proxy


Jaasperff wrote:

Actualy the client is using a regular proxy and is not set up for transparent.

 

I havn't tried it yet but I bet if we set his box up to do transparent proxy then it might work. Any ideas if it's possible to do the proxy settings in the aruba without his proxy being transparent?

 

 




 

It relies on a tranparent proxy for this method, unfortunately.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Re: Transparent Proxy

Setting to transparent got it working.

 

Thanks cjoseph !!!

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: