Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2013

Trouble using RAP3 to extend wired network using wireless uplink option

[ Edited ]

I am trying to use my RAP3 as a network extension for my home. This is in place of running a wire to my printer up stairs. I have attached a diagram of my network because I'm sure I will slaughter the network description in this text. I have setup a "Backhaul" SSID on my Linksys router and I am connecting the RAP3 to that SSID using the Wireless uplink option.

 

 

When my PC is connected directly to the Linksys with Ethernet I can get to the RAP and Linksys, but not the printer.

When I connect the PC to the Test SSID on the RAP3 I can get to the RAP3 and printer, but not the Linksys.

And when I connect the PC to the switch I can get to the printer and RAP3 but not the Linksys. 

 

Network.jpg

 

As a side note I created a separate SSID on the RAP3 on a separate subnet 172.16.11.0 and when I connect to that I can get to everything. But I really only want to use 1 subnet. :)

 

Can anyone help me get all the devices communicating on the same subnet? I will provide a config also as an attachment.

 

Thanks!

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Trouble using RAP3 to extend wired network using wireless uplink option

 

 

How are you handing out the IP addresses ?

 

I am wondering if your PC IP address when you connect directly might be having an IP conflict with the other devices ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2013

Re: Trouble using RAP3 to extend wired network using wireless uplink option

Nope, I statically set all the IPs, No change.

 

Any other ideas are welcome. I'll try anything.

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Trouble using RAP3 to extend wired network using wireless uplink option

What happens if you connect the printer directly to e1 and bypass the switch ?

I think you need to reconfigure the port configuration for e1 .
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Trouble using RAP3 to extend wired network using wireless uplink option



Since the port configuration has been set as a trunk using the native VLAN 1 and that VLAN is not defined in the IAP , there's no way for the printer to reach the 192.168.1.x network with that setup.

 

One thing you can do is to upgrade to 6.2.1.0-3.3 and it allows you to define hows the device is connected to that port will get it's IP address (Virtual controller assigned or Network assigned) and this option is not available today on the other code.

 

Hope this helps

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-08 at 3.11.20 PM.png

Screen Shot 2013-05-08 at 3.11.39 PM.png

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: