Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

hi all, i am doing config in my new aruba controller 650 an acess points ap-135. there is a problem that Unprovisioned Access Points is not detected in my controller. i have already configured dhcp server in my controller and the ap is get dynamic ip from controller. i can ping the controller from acces points. i have read the forum and CP Sec disabled.

 

this is the ping  :

PING 10.200.50.253 (10.200.50.253): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 10.200.50.253: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.4 ms
64 bytes from 10.200.50.253: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.0 ms
64 bytes from 10.200.50.253: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.0 ms
64 bytes from 10.200.50.253: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.5 ms
64 bytes from 10.200.50.253: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=1.4 ms

--- 10.200.50.253 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss

 

this is controller ip :

#show controller-ip

Switch IP Address: 172.16.0.254

Switch IP is configured to be Vlan Interface: 1

Switch IPv6 address is not configured.

 

this is ap database :

#show ap database

AP Database
-----------
Name Group AP Type IP Address Status Flags Switch IP
---- ----- ------- ---------- ------ ----- ---------

Flags: U = Unprovisioned; N = Duplicate name; G = No such group; L = Unlicensed
I = Inactive; H = Using 802.11n license; D = Dirty or no config
X = Maintenance Mode; P = PPPoE AP; B = Built-in AP
R = Remote AP; R- = Remote AP requires Auth; C = Cellular RAP; c = CERT-b
ased RAP; 1 = 802.1x authenticated AP; 2 = Using IKE version 2
M = Mesh node; Y = Mesh Recovery

Total APs:0

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

Yes is detected...

Look check that its not in access denied on the monitoring tab on the summery it should appear in read you click on it and it will say access denied...

Now at this poing you need to give it permission.

 

If you want to do it the easy way you can go to the configuration tab, and go to the  control security plane

Check autocert provisioning... and then click ok

 

When you done then you revert that change... thats for security reasons... but well you can do it like that faster... 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

[ Edited ]

Oh didnt read you have CP off...

IF you dont see it on the controller try consoling the AP to see if he find the Aruba master with the correct ip address

 

I see you got the AP on another network

Did you put the aruba-master record on the DNS pinting to 172.16.0.254

 

So when the AP comes up he knows thats the ip of the master?

And of course ont he DHCP server did you configured the DNS server i mean the internal DNS server which tells the AP which will be the aruba master?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

how to find the Aruba master with the correct ip address in ap console ?

 

I see you got the AP on another network

Did you put the aruba-master record on the DNS pinting to 172.16.0.254

 

I still using default ip address for the controller.

 

i have already set vlan 800 with ip address 10.200.50.253 with dhcp server and the ap get an ip 10.200.50.252

 

i have already set gi1/5 access with vlan 800 and connect my ap to that.

 

sorry if i ask a basic question :)

 

this is ap log :

 

cli| ADRS provision failed, code: connection-failed
Jan 1 00:32:22 cli[1177]: <341004> <WARN> |AP 6c:f3:7f:c3:67:28@10.200.50.252
cli| Isc_send_request
Jan 1 00:32:53 cli[1177]: <341005> <ERRS> |AP 6c:f3:7f:c3:67:28@10.200.50.252
cli| ADRS provision failed, code: connection-failed
Jan 1 00:33:24 cli[1177]: <341004> <WARN> |AP 6c:f3:7f:c3:67:28@10.200.50.252
cli| Isc_send_request

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

okay let see

you got set this way up

 

you got the Controller set on 172.16.0.254


You also did an interface vlan with the ip 10.200.50.253

 

 

Okay go the webgui go to configuration go to controller and on the controller ip details you will see this address on it

172.16.0.254 which should be on vlan 1

On the dropdown choose vlan800 10.200.50.253 it should appear

 

click apply

save the configuration

 

And you will need to reboot the controller...

 

Now the thing is that you should always point the AP  to the master IP address and now the master ip address is 172.16.0.254

 

For him aruba-master = 172.16.0.254 not 10.200.50.253

With the change i just told you the aruba-master will be  10.200.50.253 and it should find it correctly after you reboot

 

Now if you trunking that vlan 800 to your internal network then you shoud put the default gatway of that network pointing to the switch that is routing that vlan...

 

But for now just do the change i just told you and the AP should come up...

 

Before rebooting you can put another port on vlan 800 if you would like and you can plug your laptop or computer there and well save the config

 

 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

Im guessing you are doing this offline you your pc and the controller and the AP just to test though....

 

But when you connect it ot the real Network you will have your APs on another vlan

 

Let say

 

You got your controller with vlan 800 with the ip you said 10.200.50.253

You got that vlan trunked to your switch core and then trunked that vlan 800 back and on the switch core an ip interface vlan which will be the default gateway of that Wireless controller... let say you will have an ip interface vlan with the ip 10.200.50.1 on the SwitchCORE

And your default gateway will be the CORE switch which is routing that vlan(for now thecontroller should be just a layer 2 at this momment which is recommended.

 

Now just with that you should have aministration on the network of the Wireless contorller.

 

Now the APs might not be on that vlan... they will be in X vlan...

So now you got the dilema that you need your APS can find the controller.

It can be done in many ways....

1-By statically configuring it

2-by DNS

3-by DHCP

4-with ADP protocol(which will find it if the AP is on the same vlan of the Wireless controller)

 

I llike the DNS one

On the DNS server you put a new record aruba-master which willl be 10.200.50.253

 

Now if you connect the AP on any vlan that has a DHCP server that distribute the DNS server ip on that dhcp scope  he willl get the IP in X vlan and also but as he will resolve with the DNS server that the master is 10.200.50.253 he willl find the controller and you should see it ont he screen.

 

Hope this help you

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

@ Im guessing you are doing this offline you your pc and the controller and the AP just to test though....

 

you are right :)

 

I am still looking for how to configure this stuff 

 

Can you explain in details this :

 

1-By statically configuring it >> might be this is the easy way but i have to do it on ap's console ?

2-by DNS

3-by DHCP

4-with ADP protocol(which will find it if the AP is on the same vlan of the Wireless controller)

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

Lets go step by step

Can you see the AP now you did what i told you ?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

i have done this :

 

okay let see

you got set this way up

 

you got the Controller set on 172.16.0.254


You also did an interface vlan with the ip 10.200.50.253

 

 

Okay go the webgui go to configuration go to controller and on the controller ip details you will see this address on it

172.16.0.254 which should be on vlan 1

On the dropdown choose vlan800 10.200.50.253 it should appear

 

click apply

save the configuration

 

And you will need to reboot the controller...

 

Now the thing is that you should always point the AP  to the master IP address and now the master ip address is 172.16.0.254

 

For him aruba-master = 172.16.0.254 not 10.200.50.253

With the change i just told you the aruba-master will be  10.200.50.253 and it should find it correctly after you reboot

 

but still cant detect it

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Unprovisioned Access Points not detected

this is tha ap sum

 

# show sum

Name :AP1
Domain :
Address :0.0.0.0
Content Filtering :disable
Terminal Access :disable
Organization :
Airwave Address :0.0.0.0
Airwave Shared Key :
Airwave Config Via :DHCP
Syslog Server :0.0.0.0
Syslog Level :warn
Band :all
Master *:10.200.50.252
Master Key :6191342201c1e2d5c326e7e9c7023749e56da72af4c1e967da
Elected Time :12m:51s
Mesh :enable
Dynamic Radius Proxy :disable
NTP Server :
Configuration Dirty :disable
Allow New APs :enable
Classification :disable
Wireless Containment :disable
Wired Containment :disable
Rogue Containment :disable
LED Off :disable
Airwave :Not Set Up
Image Server State :success
Image Server Message :Success
New Image Version :
New Image URL :
Factory SSID :instant
Image Sync Via :Master
Client Alerts :0
Active Faults :0
IP Address :10.200.50.252
Serial Number :AX0141813
OpenDNS Status :Not connected
TFTP Dump Server :0.0.0.0
VPN Status :Not Set Up
0 Clients
---------
MAC Name IP Address Network Access Point
--- ---- ---------- ------- ------------
1 Network
---------
Key Name Clients
--- ---- -------
instant instant 0
1 Access Point
--------------
MAC IP Address Name Clients Need Antenna Confi
g
--- ---------- ---- ------- ------------------
-
6c:f3:7f:c3:67:28 10.200.50.252 6c:f3:7f:c3:67:28 0 No
RADIUS Servers
--------------
Name IP Address Port Key
Timeout Retry Count NAS IP Address NAS Identifier RFC3576
---- ---------- ---- ---
------- ----------- -------------- -------------- -------
InternalServer 127.0.0.1 1616 4b4f5340018718468e84e46eebb559ae8fbcb438a87415
bb05 5 3
RTLS Servers
------------
Type IP Address Port Key Frequency
---- ---------- ---- --- ---------
Aeroscout 0.0.0.0 0
Airwave 0.0.0.0 0 0
1 AP Class
----------
Name APs
---- ---
Cassiopeia 1
Uplink type :Ethernet
Uplink status :UP
Manual Blacklist Count :0
Dyn Blacklist Count :0
Certificate Installed: :No
Internal Radius Users: :0
Internal Guest Users: :0
Info timestamp :813

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: