Wireless Access

Reply
paw
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Upgrade Controller via MPLS

Hi,

 

we like to upgrade our master-local controller enviroment connected via mpls. All APs in the branch offices got as backup local switch (AP profile) the master controller.

 

If we reboot all controllers at once, like mentioned in the release notes, the APs try to fail-over to the master controller and eventually upgrade their firmware (depending on the boot speed).

 

But we don't want the AP firmware to be upgraded via MPLS.

 

My plan would be:

- Reboot locals first, get the APs fail overed to the master (without beeing upgraded)

- Wait until local is up and APs failed back (firmware gets upgraded locally).

- Update master.

 

You guys think this could be an issue?

 

Greets

 

 

 

 

MVP
Posts: 4,271
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

What version are you running now ?

And what version you upgrading to ?

You could do AP image pre-load and this will allow to upgrade all your controllers at one but you need to be running AOS 6.3 and up
http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Controller-Based-WLANs/What-is-AP-Image-Preload-and-how-it-works-in-Aruba-OS/ta-p/181656


Sent from Outlook for iPhone
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

I use exactly the method you've described - went from 25-35 minutes to tftp firmware over the WAN to the APs and then reboot for a total of 40+ minutes to 10-15 minutes total when tftp server was the local controller.

Pre-load the firmware if you've got APs and firmware where that's supported, but pre-upgrade the local controller is a good option if you have to go that route.

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
paw
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

Hi,

 

we are running 6.4.2.2, so image pre load should work, but the locals are 650 / 7010 / 3200xm controller which are not supported, right?

 

This in mind is there any other option?

 

Greets

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,018
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

Paw,

 

You can set a DHCP option on the MPLS subnets that the APS are on to point to the local controller.  http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_64x_WebHelp/Web_Help_Index.htm#ArubaFrameStyles/DHCP_Option_43/Windows_Based_DHCP_Serve.htm?Highlight=dhcp option 60.  If your APs are located in a subnet shared by your local controllers, it will first locate the local controller via broadcast, as well.

 

What either one of those things wil will do, is make the AP always discover the local controller first when it reboots.  That is because finding a controller via a local broadcast at boot and finding a controller with a DHCP 60/45 option at boot, overrides DNS discovery (which might point to your master controller).

 

In addition, if you have a backup LMS-IP in the AP group for your MPLS APs that points to the master controller, you should remove it, so that the APS do not fail over to the master during your upgrade; temporarily.

 

The end result, is that your APs will always find the local controller when it boots and when it upgrades.  When the upgrade is over, you can put the backup LMS-IP that points to your master controller back in, if it was there in the first place.

 

In summary:

Puting a DHCP Option 45 and 60 that points to the local controller on the MPLS subnet(s) that have your APS or having your APs in the same VLAN as a controller will override DNS discovery of the master controller.  In fact, it is a best practice so that APs always find the local resource first, rather than the master controller, over the WAN..



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 4,271
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

It is supported on the 3000 series and 7000 / 7200 series but not the 600 series.

Sent from Outlook for iPhone
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
paw
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

Hi,

 

@Victor: User Guide says only 3600, M3 and 7200 series. Where do you get your info from?

 

@Colin: Unfortunatly this is not easy to manage, for political reasons.

 

Away from best practices, would you expect a big issue when locals are updated first and then the master? We talking about a shot timeframe.

 

The best would be image preload!

 

Greets

 

MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Upgrade Controller via MPLS

You shouldn't have any big issues. Small issues will include an AP or several which move to their backup master and don't move back when you expect them to, or which insist on pulling their images from the remote controllers even though you've got everything right.

 

I wouldn't hesitate to follow your plan in my environment - only you know yours well enough to make the call for you.

 

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: