Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Utilize Channel 165

I'm attempting to use channel 165 at a campus that has AP-105's.  The default regulatory domain allows channel 165.  The AP-105's are also capable of using channel 165.  However, none of my APs will switch to 165.  I don't have 40MHz channels enabled, so it's not a channel bonding issue.  I'm able to use 165 at another campus with AP-225s and AOS6.3.  Any thoughts?

 

Also, I've done my homework and am not concerned about client connectivity to channel 165.

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Utilize Channel 165

[ Edited ]

Remove all of the channels in the regulatory domain profile except for 165, OR do a "show ap arm rf-summary ap-name <name of ap>" to see if the controller thinks channel 165 is poison.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Utilize Channel 165

The first few stats looks good.  I'm not familiar with the cov-idx and intf_indx output:

 

Channel Summary
---------------
channel retry phy-err mac-err noise cov-idx(Total) intf_idx(Total)
------- ----- ------- ------- ----- -------------- ---------------

165      0      0        0        93     0/0(0)          0/1//0/34(35)

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Utilize Channel 165

If you have client aware on, it could take awhile for it to change to channel 165. That does not look bad.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Utilize Channel 165

Very true.  I just wanted to make sure there weren't any other caveats and/or configuration required that I hadn't thought about.

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Utilize Channel 165

Nope.  I think you did your homework :)



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Utilize Channel 165

Thanks for the input.  I'll try creating a different regulatory domain with ch165 only and apply it to a few APs and see how that goes.

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Utilize Channel 165


thecompnerd wrote:

Thanks for the input.  I'll try creating a different regulatory domain with ch165 only and apply it to a few APs and see how that goes.


Well, that is just to make sure that there is nothing preventing your access points from tuning to channel 165.  if you create a different regulatory domain profile, you can just use an ap-specific configuration to attach it to a single access point to make sure.  This is by no means a permanent configuration.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Utilize Channel 165

Yep, completely understood.

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
MVP
Posts: 1,110
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Utilize Channel 165

Well, I stumbled across the solution today by accident!  It all has to do with the way that you disable 40Mhz channels...

 

The suggested method for disabling 40MHz channels is to turn it off via the ARM profile.  I've been turning them off through the SSID HT profile which is not the recommend way.  Although either configuration effectively disables 40MHz, if you only disable 40MHz in the SSID HT profile, ARM still uses 40MHz channels for it's calculations.  Therefore, channel 165 is not considered as an available channel.

 

Would not have figured this out if it were not for this post: http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/07-19-13-Expert-Day/How-to-turn-off-40Mhz-channel-for-802-11n-radio/td-p/86856

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: